Sleep.

12 Jul

It was the best hospital nights sleep I’ve had ever. I say hospital night sleep because obviously I was woken up for meds and obs but I’ve been able to lie around until whenever – I’m only  out talking to you because they are changing my bed. Only problem is I’ve specifically asked for liquid or IV medicines, because you all know I can’t swallow the pills (why are they so damn big? And dry? And taste horrendous?), but did they bring me them? No no no, it was all large pills. I’ll make sure that’s sorted today though don’t worry. I’m on Potassium too but the drink makes me sick so I’m getting Dad to bring me bananas – even better source I reckon.

I’m not sure if I can eat or drink because I’m meant to be having my CT scan today..but no one has said anything. In my rank of scans, CT is my least favourite – but it’s still acceptable. My scan rank starts with the bone scan, because that was just amazing and you got free hot chocolate! It was so comfortable, you just wouldn’t believe. Then xrays because they are easy and don’t hurt – plus when you need one after an operation they bring the portable scanner to you, so you don’t even have to do anything and can be ultra lazy. I’m wondering if I’ll have to have anymore operations, especially one to get rid of the tumour next to my stomach..I think that’s actually what’s causing my troubles with food, but I guess the scan today should shed some light on that. Oh yeah, and then it goes MRI and lastly CT – I haven’t experienced any others.

I just re-read that paragraph and I had written ‘my tumour’, I don’t think that’s particularly healthy. It’s a tumour, it’s not part of me but I suppose it is mine. I, however, am not at all fond of it.

Mags – I want to tell you that I have used your bag as my hospital bag and it is perfect because it fits everything in. When I can take a picture I will to show you all.

I have a bit of a crunchy neck so that’s not fantastic, but you can’t have everything can you!?

15 Responses to “Sleep.”

  1. jill Clayton July 12, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Hi Rosie, I’m so glad you had a good sleep. It may help you with the CT (Cat) scan if you close your eyes and imagine Eshaness curling up, purring, besides you! Love, Jill

  2. Michelle Gabriel July 12, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    You have a crunchie in your neck? What’s that all about? Your weird way of sneaking food in 🙂
    Eshaness would love to be snugged up with you, especially if you were warm. She’d keep you company and purr like mad. Keep kipping, xxxx

  3. Mike July 12, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Make sure your dad doesn’t drop those bananas on your laptop and ruin it!

    (Potassium joke)

  4. margaret crisp July 12, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Hi Rosie, glad you’re much happier today, after a proper sleep! I hope that if you get your ct scan, that you hear the results soon and that you get the tumour next to your stomach sorted if its that that’s causing you the problem.
    Hi Michelle, thanks for your anniversary wishes. Cycled up to the village and the backside was better than it has been! Not perfect, but much better in padded shorts!!
    When Rosie takes a photo of the bag she’s got, can do you one similar if you like! It won’t be delivered till September, though, as I don’t trust the base in the post. It’s robust, but has a covered in materialcardboard base you can put in or take out and is a carpet bag really. Would have to charge 15 pounds for it (i sell them over here for 20 euros), but I think Rosie you could make a profit on that if you take good photos, etc etc!!! I have four already made, but linings differ in colour. If you want them to sell on, Rosie, let me know!! Mother has alo got more material so I can make some more…hven’t seen the new material yet and will be fetching it in September.
    Am off to take dogs for a walk, just finished giving a french lesson, love mags.

    • jill Clayton July 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

      Hi Rosie, Your Citizen column is in tonight, page 6. I haven’t read it yet because I wanted to let everybody know.
      Hope you sleep well again tonight. Love, Jill

      • jill Clayton July 12, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

        Have just read it. Terrific! Jill

  5. margaret crisp July 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Is it on internet, jill?

    • jill Clayton July 12, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Hi Mags, I don’t think so. I’m not good at finding my way round the new site yet. If I haven’t found it by tomorrow, I’ll write it up here for everybody.
      Rosie, would you like me to cut it out and keep for you? Love, Jill

  6. celia butler July 12, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    :-)) for the good night’s sleep. Wishing you another one tonight, and enjoy those bananas. x

  7. Deb Walker July 12, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Hopefully, you won’t have one of these for a very long time ….. but, in my experience, the mammogram ‘scan’ (- if you can call it that) is probably the least favourite of mine….. especially the biopsy type …. being ‘trapped in one for 40 mins, then a 5 min break and then 30 mins …. with lots of needles involved. Now that was certainly THE most uncomfortable .. ooh err!

    Thinking of you frequently and hoping that you will be out of Gloucester Hosp asap and off to YPU for your planned tests.

    Love from us all,
    Deb and gang xxxxx

    • theknockoneffect July 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      I am at YPU! See my previous post 🙂

      • Deb Walker July 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

        Just scrolled down, before I opened this ‘comment’ section …. oooops, lol!

  8. Michelle July 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    see Rosie, what you do, is you make people talk, you inspire us, you have us discussing all matter of things – from poo to scans to bags. What a great person you are and I’m pleased I stumbled upon your blog (well I was pointed here by Sue Hickman).
    I’d love to see a photo of your bag, but from the sound of it, I’m already sold. Mags – I’d like a bag please, and Rosie, if you put a photo up, I’ll send you a donation as well – how’s that?
    Off to get my sleep, hope I manage as well as Rosie, but a snorey person may make that less likely 🙂 (and it’s not Eshaness) xxx

  9. Rose Mayerling July 12, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    so glad you had a good nights sleep . carry on lounging as long as you can , lots of love Rose xxxxxxx

  10. Coz Al July 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Dark Chocolate, dried apricots and nuts…all nice ways to get potassium than some yukky drink. 🙂 Dark Choc my fav, I even have some when my potassium is just fine…

Leave a Reply

