YPU.

11 Jul

I’m here. I’m on YPU in Birmingham and I’m so happy to be away from the Chinese lady who only let me have 2 hours sleep last night. She doesn’t even understand what ‘Shh!’ means! But I’m not there anymore so who cares? Well actually I made friends with a girl called Amber, who is the same age as me and was in the bed next to me. She made a flowery ring and let me have it so I’m sad to have left her behind.

I didn’t eat my cheese and potato bake..I was quite sick today and the drugs weren’t working. I think it was partly because I was so tired. But don’t worry..I’ve had my protein..we stopped for McDonalds on the way up! I ate 4 whole chicken nuggets – weyhey! Nutrional or what?!

I have got an extra stone of fluid on me so it’s no wonder I have back ache is it? They’ve written me up for more Morphine though so I’ll be singing and dancing by tomorrow.

The only thing that’s put a downer on today is that Toby hasn’t texted all day.. I think I’m still having boy troubles 😦 But I won’t bore you with that..you want to know about my poo and things.

They took my canula out and I had the most perfect shower, even though I looked like an oompa loompa with all the fluid gathered on my tummy and thighs – it’s a laugh, you should see it! I don’t have a camera though and it’s not really appropriate to post a picture of me naked..not really appropriate at all. I’ve had another canula put in and it only took two goes so that’s even better.

I’mΒ going to sign off for now because, obviously, I’m exhausted. You will be pleased to know I’ve had an Ensure so there is some vitamins in me. I best sleep well tonight! Over and out.

11 Responses to “YPU.”

  1. Lin July 11, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re at the YPU, and 4 whole McNuggets!! Woohoo!!!
    Sleep well honey, thinking about you lots:-))))) (Grant too! – he was so honoured to get a mention a while back!!)
    xxxxxx

  2. Michelle July 11, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Wayhay πŸ™‚ Rosie’s at the YPU, celebration time πŸ™‚
    And chicken mcnuggets, how marvellous, (not that I’d know what they are, never had a macDonalds at all).
    And boys/men – pah, nothing but trouble (says she, married 23 years – but I’m right – and this is probably going to be read by my Fatman, oops sorry, beloved husbend πŸ˜‰ )
    Pooh is better, Tigger too πŸ™‚
    Sleep tight, make sure the bugs don’t bite, and we’ll catch up with you in the morning.

    • jill Clayton July 11, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      I wonder if they do roast turkey in the YPU! At least you should get the chance to sleep properly AND be in the place that really is meant for your age group! Love, Jill

  3. ro July 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Yay!! You made it there, glad to hear it.
    Chicken nuggets are brilliant when you’re feeling ill, aren’t they? When I moved to Germany, the flat we got when we arrived we just behind and upstairs from a McDonalds, and we were feeling so ill (horrible colds plus driving to Berlin) and so completely overwhelmed by Germany and German and suddenly living in a new country, that we just ate chicken nuggets every day for quite a few days… made us feel more able to handle everything, and try to get better.

    When I worked in a children’s cancer ward in New Zealand, the children who were neutropenic (no white blood cells to fight infection) weren’t allowed takeaways, because they might get infection. A family who wanted to make their little girl who’d just been diagnosed with leukaemia wanted to make her feel better went out and got her chicken nuggets, only to be told when they got back to the hospital that they weren’t allowed 😦 Luckily that was before the little girl found out – that would have been really sad! I did feel sorry for them though.

    Enough stories, I’m glad you were well enough to move and to enjoy chicken nuggets. Have fun singing and dancing.
    Ro

  4. Mike July 11, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Glad you made it Rosie and that you now might get some proper zzzzzs. It always puzzles me that hospitals think folk can get well on Keith Richards-style sleep cycles. Sunday I was up at ten, took the kids to a party, went to work for nine, back in bed at ten this morning – 24 hours up and I couldn’t walk straight, was virtually blind, and almost barfed on a schoolchild on the bus next to me. And I’m reasonably healthy. Roll on the dream world where hospitals consider kip as vital as meds.

    And chicken nuggets were invented by Leonardo da Vinci. Fact.

  5. Chris J Dixon July 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Glad you made it to YPU Rosie, though sad to hear you made a friend at the old hospital and had to leave Amber behind with the Chinese woman. Yep, sometimes you get good and bad patients in the same ward bay and there is nothing we can do about it. Better luck at YPU where you can make it your second home.

    Good to hear you ate at McDonald’s, even 4 chicken nugets if better than nothing Rosie. Fluids help and the protein does make you look plump when we have lost so much weight, lol.

    Sorry to hear about boy friend troubles, we have the opposite with eldest grandson (Kyle 17), he got patent problems hence staying over us at the moment . Kyle his brother Liam, Bev and I all think you are good looking young lady, but we draw the line at naked pictures, especially of me as I look like I had a repeated fight with Zorro and a white shark .

    Good to hear they upped your morphine, I am on 20 mg transdermal patches and pop 30 tablets a day, so I hope your meds start to kick in and you have a good nights sleep too. OK on changing your cannula, I had a failed one when I had my CAT Scan last week, too much scaring in my arm so went for the wrist second time around to get the contrast in, it hurt like hell going in too.

    Sorry to hear you look like a oompa loompa, as long as you don’t turn purple from eating from Willy Wonka factory, you should be OK, LOL.

    Fingers crossed you get a good nights sleep, good night Rosie, sweet dreams xxx

  6. Dee July 11, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Went back and looked at your pictures of the YPU. Was the shower in the room with the amazingly dizzy graphics?
    Hoping you get lots of rest while the nuggets and vitamins whizz about doing nutritional wonders……..and that your back feels a bit better tomorrow.
    xxx

  7. Rose Mayerling July 12, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    HO Rosie you are going thourgh it Ah ? hope you did get a good sleep , Thinking of you lots of love Rose xxxxxx

  8. margaret crisp July 12, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad you are now where you wanted to be, and hoping that the morphine soon makes you feel better. It’s our wedding anniversary today so am cooking steak tonight, which will hopefully be nice.
    Am off to the village soon by bike – went a long way yesterday but got really saddle sore, so am hoping that padded pants AND padded shorts mprove the situation today!! Otherwise could do with a bit of your morphine for my backside!!
    love mags.

    • Michelle Gabriel July 12, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      Mags – you could have my padded bum πŸ™‚
      And Rosie mentioned a bag you sent her, which you made? I think we need photos of your skills.
      I’m terrible with bags – I love them, so show them, and I’d buy – at an inflated price, profits to Rosie?
      Hope you’re not saddle sore, and happy anniversary to you.

  9. Michelle Gabriel July 12, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Rosie
    Hope yo’ve had a cracking nights sleep. And I hope you have a lovely breakfast and maybe a turkey dinner πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

