Poetry.

2 Jul

Mum, Dad and I saw Tony Walsh and Hollie McNish at the Ledbury poetry festival last night. They were then in the pub afterwards and I told them they were very well received for Ledbury, especially as one of the lines was ‘we put the KY in kinky’. It was a very good set actually and Tony Walsh really inspired me to want to write something that has rhythm and sounds brilliant read out loud. I came up with a quick line in the pub (‘Private minds think of no joust.’) but Mum didn’t appreciate it. So I paid her back by dreaming of poetry and waking up at 4am feeling horrendously sick.

I also saw my GCSE English teacher (hello if you’re reading this!) and got to tell her, happily, about me winning the Malvern Young Writers award :).

If you ever get the opportunity to see Tony Walsh then I would recommend it. He has a great new poem called Make A Love and it’s one of my favourites.

We’re going to the Poetry Slam tonight and various other things over the next week..how cultural.

2 Responses to “Poetry.”

  1. margaret crisp July 2, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Hi Rosie, put pen to paper whilst you’re inspired – the moment soon passes!
    Sorry you felt so sick, hopefully now back to normal!
    love mags.

  2. Tony Walsh July 2, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Hi Rosie Thanks for your kind words last night and in you blog. Glad that you enjoyed the show and sorry that you missed the slam. I’m sorry also to read of your illness but inspired by how you’re fighting back. Well done and good luck with everything! Tx

Leave a Reply

