Maggies Donation.

30 Jun

We donated a fabulous £1100 to Maggies Centres Cheltenham yesterday.

The drive to Cheltenham wrecked me and I was absolutely exhausted, so I probably didn’t come off very well – but it’s okay because Natalie was there as well.

Afterwards I went home and lay down for a couple of hours, then got whisked off to a BBQ at Keri’s house, so got to see loads of people who I hadn’t seen for months and months. The evening broke me and I came home aching, but I had a great time.

I’ve spent today recovering and I read a book that none of you should ever read (Confessions of a GP) – doctors are  not writers and this particular one was irritating and used too many exclamation marks. I think that book has annoyed me because I seem to be annoyed now. I don’t know..

I wish Jane or Lisa had been at Maggies yesterday because they knew the whole situation and who was who..I don’t think the people there knew who I was, they knew who Natalie was and this isn’t meant to sound like a ‘do you know who I am?!’ situation at all, but I don’t know I just didn’t feel important. I don’t know..I don’t know what the hell I’m complaining about really, we’ve given them the money and that’s fantastic.. I guess actually, everyone who was there when we arrived were older..I felt a bit too young and now I don’t see Maggies as a place I can go.

Hmm..I need to get dressed.

4 Responses to “Maggies Donation.”

  1. jill Clayton June 30, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m surprised they didn’t know who you were. It may be that the people who would normally be there had to stay home for childcare with the schools shut. I know when I am tired it can feel as if I’m in a bubble. I’m glad Natalie was there with you

  2. margaret crisp June 30, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Hi Rosie, I am SURE you can go and will be made welcome when you get there….perhaps a quick telephone call of reminding them who you are before your arrival would put the record straight!!!
    No Citizen report yet?? Perhaps they’re too busy sorting out their new website I don’t like!
    Have made two long banners today, each about 25 fett long (don’tt do metric) in support of ‘SKY PROCYCLING’ and ‘BRADLEY WIGGINS’ as the tour de france passes our house on Tuesday. The road is to be closed for three hours, and we’re going to have english cream tea at the bottom of our driveway, and cheer on the british team. Apparently, Bradley wiggins was fourth last year. We don’t usually follow it, but as its coming by us and we have 150 yards of road frontage, we thought we’d do our bit.!

    I’ve cycled again today, and am saddle sore!!
    loove mags.

    • theknockoneffect June 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Still no column and I’ve emailed my contact but she hasn’t replied so I’m not sure what’s going on..maybe she’s on holiday?

  3. jill Clayton July 1, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Don’t worry about the column, Rosie. As Dave Kent could tell you, we used to be sure what day our columns would appear but now it’s much more hit-and-miss. If your contact is Pam, she was away last week and I think Lisa has also been away.
    If neither of those is your contact, e-mail me and I’ll speak to my own contacts. I’m quite sure that they would not want to miss your column.

Leave a Reply

