Bone scan.

27 Jun

So I experienced a bone scan today. I think they are my favourite scans because you don’t have to hold your breath and the dye doesn’t make you feel funny. The camera comes VERY close to your face though, so I can’t imagine it would be fun if you were at all claustrophobic. Dad and I arrived and I had my injection – the dye was in a metal tube – and then we actually went out and sat in his car because I wanted to lie down. I did think, at one point, I was humming but Dad said it was the air conditioning. The waiting room had free drinks, including hot chocolate, so we went back a bit early (you need to leave 2 and a half hours for the dye to enter your bones) and then I went and had it done. They were thinking about doing a second scan where the cameras revolve around your head, but they decided against that.

Toby and I are going to West Midlands Safari Park tomorrow – I hope it stays warm and that I don’t get too tired.

3 Responses to “Bone scan.”

  1. jill Clayton June 27, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    The BBC say the weather will be perfect for you. Temperature at 20 degrees and the rain will have stopped by 1 am.
    Re scans: I think the worst is an ultrasound of bladder and other giblets. You have to have a VERY full bladder.
    Hope you and Toby enjoy tomorrow

    • Lin June 27, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Oh god yes you do! I sat and drank about 4l of water then got poked about until i was sure i was gonna pee….then still had to hold it for about an hour after………….i didnt think i could hold so much liquid……….

  2. margaret crisp June 28, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad bone scan went okay. Enjoy your trip today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    love mags.

Leave a Reply

