Hospice.

22 Jun

Okay, I have to be honest with you..I hated the hospice 😦 When I arrived, there was a really really sick person in the day room, with her family all fussing around her, and it really freaked me out. I just wanted to go home and I was hoping it wouldn’t be how I imagined but it was. I know you all said it would be lovely but I just didn’t like it. The staff were very nice – particularly a doctor called Charlie who knew I was unsure and said that it was normal to feel that way. He was very nice and I had a nurse, called Lorna, looking after me and she was also very nice, but it just wasn’t for me. My room had a great view though, with a balcony bit and everything. Also I ate a load of my lunch, which was chicken pie, it was the most I’d eaten for a week. But yeah.. :/ I am going to make use of their complimentary therapies, for my neck pain, though.

After the first unit of blood I felt great and ready to go, but then after the second I felt tired again and today I feel too tired to do anything, but not tired enough to stay in bed all day. I have got another appointment at QE this afternoon so that’ll be a change of scene. Also, a date has come through for my bone scan (the one they have organised just to rule out anything sinister in my neck), it sounds pretty scary..it’s a nuclear bone scan :S. Has anyone had a bone scan before?

I did find out what food poisoning I’ve got but I can’t remember the name..can last up to two weeks though. I have bad bad stomach cramps today 😦 BUT! Last night I only had to call mum down at midnight! Every other night I’ve had to call her down at 4am! That’s a step in the right direction!

The shop that got away is going to be a boutique apparently..there’s posters in the windows. I should be getting some details of another shop this week, so that’s something to look forward too.

9 Responses to “Hospice.”

  1. Sammy P June 22, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Least your hospice visit is over… glad your sounding all up and ready again for the shop hunt!

    and a boutique pah….teashop much more practical and scrummy!

    Ciao for now.

  2. Sue Trevethan June 22, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Yes i’ve had a nuclear bone scan, a small amount of radioactive stuff is given in an injection (doesn’t hurt) then they do a stright forward scan . They tell you that you will be radioactive for 12 hrs or so which my kids found very funny they kept looking at me to see if i had started glowing……………:)

  3. celia butler June 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I guess the thing about the hospice is that it offers an alternative to hospital for some treatments (e,g your blood transfusion) and some extras like the complementary therapies. So it isn’t an inclusive package, you can pick and mix from what works for you or is more convenient and pass on the rest. Hope the transfusion makes you feel better generally and that your stomach cramps are better today. x

  4. Jan - Bristol June 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    oh i’m so sorry to hear you visit was 😦 is it an adult hospice or children’s? shame you’re not in our area…. we’d take care of you 🙂 take care x

  5. Pip Armstrong June 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Sorry you didn’t like the hospice. Do you have to go to Hereford or can you go elsewhere in the area ….. I know a few people who have used St Richard’s in Worcester and without exception said it was a wonderful place …must be good anyway, how could it not be when Patricia Routledge ‘Hyacinth Bucket’ is the patron of it! George and I saw her at a fundraising event in Worcester Cathedral last year, suchhh a lovely person and not at all like Mrs Bucket really :o)
    Hope your trip to the QE goes well, keep your pecker up, that damned food poisoning bug should be out of your system soon x

  6. margaret crisp June 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Hi Rosie, a shame you didn’t much like the hospice, but perhaps you can find an alternative place if you have to have another transfusion. Hope your QE appointment went okay and that you can go back home and relax for a while.
    Is the second shop in Ledbury, too? And have you looked at clothes racks etc, for hanging space? Guess you’ll have to have a counter, too, for the till and suchlike. Perhaps you’ll be lucky enough to come upon some of this sort of stuff secondhand, by looking for any closing down sales, or re-furbishment ones.
    Am just debating whether to go for a bike ride tonight – it keeps alternating between watery sun, then clouds and rain! It is more like Autumn here than summer!!
    love mags.

  7. Deb Walker June 22, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    Hi Rosie!
    Not so good about your hospice experience, but I hope your QE trip was better. What are the complimentary therapies on offer for your neck pain?
    I have had two full body bone scans, with the most recent being about 4 weeks ago. Pretty straight forward …. radioactive injection; hang around for a couple of hours and drink plenty of liquids (- for stuff to get all around the body and into bones) and keep away from small babies and pregnant women; lie as still as possible on the scanner ‘bed’ (-approx twenty minutes) and this flat-square-scanner starts over your head and gradually moves down the length of your body (- you don’t get ‘posted’ into any claustrophobic ‘tunnels’, but the scanner gets very close to your nose to begin with !!!!
    Hoping that your scan results come back crystal clear!
    Love to all,
    Deb and gang xxxxx

  8. carol lewis June 22, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I had a bone scan nothing to it, can’t remember what scan I had but I forgot to remove my loose change out of my back jeans pocket…gave them all a fright that day. shame you did’nt like the hospice maybe its because you’ve got used to the hospital regime.

  9. Jan - Bristol June 23, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I’ve just thought of a story to gross you out… when my Dad had his radioactive scan he was told the same things.. keep away from young kids etc and as he said “no kissing… well I can kiss your mum, but no tongues” eeeuuuuggghhh (my dad is 80!) TOO MUCH INFORMATION 🙂 Hope you are feeling brighter today x

Leave a Reply

