Poo.

16 Jun

Okay, I have a question…have any of you had food poisoning? And if so…what was your poo like? Lets not be embarrassed about this..but if you don’t want to admit who you are then you can answer me anonymously and no one would ever know..however if I came on here and said:

I My friend was wondering whether it was normal to have such horrible poo during food poisoning.. I mean I’ve she’s told the doctor and they said it was normal but I’m she’s not quite sure they understood the severity of the situation!

See where I’m coming from? Doesn’t quite work right? Just to say that I’m not trying to make this into any kind of poo forum..I know I’ve got some new readers and, by god, don’t be put off..

I keep spiking terrible temperatures :/ plus the house smells of oysters (thanks for that Steph and Nick! Pah!)

Mags – you didn’t have to send me anything! Thank you though 🙂 I didn’t like Dr Harb to begin with and he’s nothing like Dan the Man..but he’s relaxing more and I’m relaxing more and he seems to actually be quite good at moving forwards with things like these scans and stuff (of which, I don’t know when or where they are..)

Dad and I watched Temple Grandin earlier – amazing film about an autistic lady..although now we think Calum really needs to step up to the mark 😉

 

I’ve got to sign off because I can feel myself burning up! Thanks for all the lovely messages 🙂

14 Responses to “Poo.”

  1. Pip Armstrong June 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I’ve had food poisoning, Campylobacter, caught it in France. The stuff that came out was very watery, very frequent and smelt like sick. In the end it was also bloody. I felt terrible, really fluey with high temp and was very weak and I remember had a terrible headache.
    How often are you taking morphine Rosie? Did you take it every day on holiday? Just wondering if some of the symptoms you are getting are to do with withdrawal from it which can start quite quickly if you’ve had it every day and stop, from squitty bottom to erratic temperature and feeling panicky …just a thought? Also, if you are on mega strong antibiotics it could be them making you squitty or if not they can make you vulnerable to a bug called c-difficile which gives you bad diarrhoea? Hope you get sorted very soon x

    • theknockoneffect June 16, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      I didn’t take Morphine at all on holiday – I don’t take it regularly, just when I need it..so the last time I took it was once on Sunday night I think. Not on antibiotics either, it’s definitely from the food poisoning but everything feels like it’s calming down a little now. It’s not c-difficile – I know all about that hah 🙂 Thanks for the thoughts X

  2. Dee June 16, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Haven’t had food poisoning for a long time but had norovirus in January and the poo was mostly like water with a few bits in and came so suddenly I just had to lie on the bathroom floor wrapped in a towel. I had a high temp and a terrible headache and was really weak but it only lasted a couple of days.

    Really, really hope yours clears up soon – it’s just horrible 😦

    Couldn’t help a little smile at Robin, commenting on your previous post “sounds like a crap night for you” – indeed, hit the nail on the head….

    Sending stomach-calming vibes – rest up Rosie x

  3. Pip Armstrong June 16, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Have they sent a stool sample for analysis Rosie because food poisoning is notifiable and they should therefore be able to tell you exactly what the bug is? I’m sure you are only using the morphine when you need it, if it gets rid of the pain then that’s brill just wondered if you’d suddenly stopped and hadn’t put the two things together that’s all.
    Reeeeally glad it’s calming down now anyway because the squits is the pits x

    • theknockoneffect June 16, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

      Yeah, they told me the name of the particular poisoning I had but I can’t remember what they said 😦

  4. Deb Walker June 16, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Never had food poisoning ….. so can’t help you on that one.

    Just wanted to let you know that I’m still keeping up to date with your blog ….. and send our love to everyone at home.

    Temple Grandin ….. brilliant! We originally saw her documentary, then the film! Amazing story and life …. and such a help to those of us who work with children and young people who are on the spectrum (-to varying degrees) …. to try and relate to how they experience the world!

    If Cal ‘steps up to the mark’, what do you think he will become an expert in? Looking forward to hearing what he does! How is the trampolining going :-D?

    Hope you feel heaps better real soon ….

    Deb x

  5. julia June 16, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Food poisoning memories…..First night of a holiday in Majorca after having pizzas, we both started feeling ill, then half an hour later we were both throwing up and having diarrhoea at the same time in one bathroom. Nice.
    Then there was the time we were trekking in Nepal at 4000 metres up in the Himalayas several days walk from civilisation in a very basic room (no electricity) and the communal toilet was a hole in the ground, where Paul was really ill with horrible mucousy poo. He had nothing but flat Coke for two days, then carried his backpack to the top of the mountain, then ate nothing but tomato soup and chapatis for a week. I think he lost 2 stones.
    Is everyone still feeling ok?

  6. Alison June 16, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Same symptoms as Pip also Campylobacter. I was on holiday in Austria of all places and in a decent 4 star hotel for once! I usually do B and B and put it down to the buffet salad, sigh. I also had really bad stomach cramps and just felt terrible.

    Hope you soon start to recover from it and good luck with the scans.

    Ali xx

  7. Lin June 16, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Mine was mussels………….projectile vomiting, cramps, cold sweats and thin mucousy poo that smelt like slurry mixed with overboiled cabbage and rotten eggs, and an odd afterpong of fishy banana……apart from the pre-diabetes diagnosis and the piggy flu and pneumonia, worse I have EVER felt….EVER…..ohhhh and bloody at the end too, and ZERO warning…..just sat on loo with head in sink…….
    Hope you feel better soon baby…its awful………
    big hugs….
    xxxxxxx

  8. Pip Armstrong June 16, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Just remembered my squits were so bad I used to poo the bed every night, I was totally unaware of it but it would just run out like a tap in my sleep ….well you did ask lol :oS

    • Lin June 18, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      OMG!! So did I….thank you soooo much….up til this point I had managed to erase that from my mind………*whimpers quietly

  9. Michelle June 16, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Well, I’ve not had food poisoning but…I’ve had an anterior resection (part bowel removal) and I have had, and still get, dreadful diarrhoea.
    It’s a permanent thing with me, so I do understand where you’re coming from.
    I don’t take any drugs if I can help it as my consultant thinks I’m on enough drugs, and more side effects would be too much, but I use a very old traditional remedy, which is totally safe (no, not a cork 🙂 ) and that is a teaspoon of cornflour mixed with a little milk (or soya milk) and then drunk. Pretty awful to taste, well claggy in the mouth, but it binds you and settles your dire rear.
    It’s as near to the kaolin in kaolin and morphine (used to love that stuff when I was young).
    And as for smells, tea tree is the best, maybe a few drops in the toilet.
    Mic

  10. Steph June 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    and to change the subject a little… sorry about the smell, didn’t think about that – just the taste!
    Hope you’re over it soon xx

  11. celia butler June 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Well – you certainly started something here with this topic, Rosie. I wonder if this is a blogging first?
    Am very thankful that I can’t contribute to the discussion, but would only add that I think you should banish all thoughts of ever visiting Egypt. I have. Despite being ultra cautious with everything, my daughter got horrendous food poisoning in Cairo last year within a couple of days. Do hope that you feel a lot better very soon. x

Leave a Reply

