Research

20 May

Mum and I went on a research mission today to find out what works and what doesn’t with shop-cafes. It involved the nicest brownie I’ve ever eaten (sold here if you’re interested).

It’s only a short one today because my neck is quite tense and painful 😦

Um um um I forgot to tell you what I sent Toby yesterday – it was some wet wipes (hahaha mum said she would like to get wet wipes if she had an exam) and today I sent him some mind puzzles.

Don’t worry, the shop I’m interested in is still for rent but my issue is should I go for it now or wait until after we’ve been on holiday? We’re going to France for two weeks in August time and I don’t know anyone who would be able to look after the shop for me…also, I don’t know if I would trust anyone to do it to the standard I want (considering that it will be brand new and will need to make a good impression). I would only trust someone after I had worked with them and trained them first. But I don’t want to work at Tesco any longer 😦 And I just want to get on with it and do it. But I can’t really open then close up for two weeks can I? Especially when I’ll be paying out for rent! What should I do?

9 Responses to “Research”

  1. Jeremy May 20, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    The “correct” answer of course is don’t go on holiday, as holidays are a luxury for one person businesses, particularly if they’re shops, and doubly particularly if they’re just starting up.

  2. Coz Al May 20, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Two weeks stock buying in French markets? A no brainer ! You could find so many great items if there are good markets near where you are staying.
    France is renowned for its vintage markets; people who have shops in the UK seem to be always stock hunting out there…or maybe its just an excuse to have a holiday…anyway put it in the plan! If you have the shop by then you could train the person in July no problem but whichever way it works out sometimes these things take longer than you think, especially when dealing with estate agents, solicitors and so on.

    xx
    al

  3. Coz Al May 21, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    forgot to put this on last night.
    http://vide-greniers.org/flea-market-france.php

  4. Debbie May 21, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Follow your heart Rosie. If you want to just go ahead and do it, then that’s what you should do. There is a full 2 months befor your holiday, so now you know you need to find someone to help you for 2 weeks in August, just add that to your list of things you need to do. You may or may not have the shop open by then, but still you can have the whole of June to find them, and July to make sure they know exactly what you want them to do, and establish trust. Generally, things only appear as problems if they are unforseen or don’t have the time to deal with it. You know about this in advance and have time to hatch a plan!
    Debbie x

  5. celia butler May 21, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    You need to be able to enjoy your holiday (otherwise there isn’t a lot of point in going!). Would you spend all your time wondering about what was going on back in the shop? Or are you good at switching off? Might help to decide which way round to do things. x

  6. maddie May 21, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    rent it now! yano working in an estate and letting agent i know these things;) doooo it:)

  7. Michelle May 21, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    What ever you do, do not shut up shop in August! It would be business suicide 🙂 Especially is it’s a tea shop. It needs to be open, lots.
    Get someone in to help you when you open and then they can run it for you when you’re away.
    Good luck – you can do it, it will be great.

  8. Rob May 22, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    this place got a good mention in an excellent blog I was reading just now
    http://coxandbaloney.com/index.htm
    immediately thought of you when I saw it
    looks right up your street
    good research next time you’re in Bristol?

    • theknockoneffect May 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      Oh no! I thought my idea was unique! 😦

Leave a Reply

