Powercut.

19 May

I don’t appear to be very good at the titles of these posts..they’re very boring.

We had a power cut this morning! Word from the Post Office is that the transformer (Optimus Prime I believe) was on fire this morning and the silly woman, who’s garden it was in, threw a bucket of water over it. Never throw water on an electric fire..find some carbon dioxide and put that on it. It appears to be fixed now because I’m up at running aren’t I? I thought I was at an advantage on my laptop because I had battery, I forgot that I would need the Wifi to get onto the internet.

I am so much less irate today 🙂 Hardly irate at all infact! My shoulder’s stopped hurting as well so that’s fabby. The low blood counts by the way are due to the Sutent and could take up to 6 week to get back to normal (hold the phone..no crowded places for 6 weeks?! Nightmare.), if they say I can’t go on holiday then I will say stuff you. Yes yes yes I know, I know! I will be more annoyed if I get ill and I know I DON’T know better so give me a bit of credit.

I have been reading a magazine today talking about all festivals great and small and it turns out there are at least five festivals a stones throw from me, including Big Chill. An affordable vintage, quirky, retro shop sounds like quite the fantastic idea to entertain the tourists nearby so I am so so so up for my shoppe! I have some fantastic ideas for display and all sorts!
If you’re interested then the festivals nearby are:-
Big Chill at Eastnor Deer Park, 4th – 7th August, £165 for the weekend (although there are special rates for residents/children etc – not so much discount as when they weren’t taken over by Festival Republic but whatever.)
Winterwell at secret location nearby, 17th – 19th June, £100 for the weekend (growing due to word of mouth advertising – cute!)
2000trees at Upcote Farm in Cheltenham, 14th – 16th July, £59 for the weekend (although they are now sold out..)
Wychwood
at Cheltenham Racecourse, 3rd – 5th June, £115 for a weekend adult (or £122 on the door)
Barn on the Farm at Over Farm Market in Gloucester, 8th – 11th July, £48.94 for a full weekend plus special Friday ticket (now sold out but you can buy the Saturday-Monday ticket for £39.20)

Took me ages to find a picture but this is from my friend Alice’s archive..Those tents look like carnage! When Toby and I went to V festival a couple of years ago we B+B’d it!

6 Responses to “Powercut.”

  1. Alison May 19, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    That picture is my idea of total hell lol! Tents, tents and more tents. I love tents, we have lots of tents as well as a caravan but that number of people and tents in one place, erm, no!

    Ironically we don’t live far from Glasto and at my parents’ previous house we could hear it across the fields.

    Can you have a word with the hospital and explain the time your appointments are taking up especially your Dad’s, and ask if it is possible to conduct them by phone with tests being done locally? Worth a try.

    Ali xx

  2. Coz Al May 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I will be very sad if you can’t come 😦 Grow those white blood cells, grow them!
    I like watching the festivals on the telly…does that count?

  3. margaret crisp May 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Hi Rosie, can’t say I fancy a music festival, but have camped at Dorset Steam Fair, which is a vast event…and where the loos are absolutely ughhhhh! Have just come back in after another bike ride, this time of 6 miles!! It included some uphill bits and I haven’t got a first gear so got off and walked up then enjoyed the downhill bits!
    Coincidentally, we had no power this morning as they were workng on the line and pre-warned us. This meant we gathered water as without electric the pump won’t pump the water from our spring. We do have a gas hob, which we can light with a lighter if the electric start bit isn’t working, so at least we could have tea and cook our usual boiled egg lunch!
    We may well go camping this year too – in the garden, so that all amenities are to hand. We can’t go to camp sites as the dogs aren’t up to date with rabies jabs so won’t be admitted with them. Besides, we have cats, geese and chickens to look after too!
    Keep on with the shop idea…and plan an opening launch with sparkling wine and nibbles, after having sent fliers to most of Ledbury and milked as much publicity as you can!!! A few plants would look nice and give it a ‘homely, unrushed’ feel and you’ll need your Loyd looom chair finshed so men have a sit down while the wives are in the dressing rooms. Perhaps some large mirrors in old picture frames??
    And are you going to have t-shirts printed that you can wear whilst in the shop with the shop name on?? It’d identify you but also save a lot of decisions on’what shall I wear today.’
    love mags.

    • theknockoneffect May 19, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Also if you camp in the garden you won’t have to pay for the travel or the camp site – good idea!
      I’m going to have home-made lemonade at the launch..maybe not wine though because I think you need a license? I don’t know. Talking of my chair – I have painted it and put the fabric on now so I just need braid! Nearly done! I’m not going to have tshirts printed because I never ever want to wear a uniform again!

  4. margaret crisp May 20, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Hi, home made lemonade sounds fine, or elderflower champagne which I don’t think is alcoholic but has a certain ‘ring’ to its name….I would think you can have alcoholic drinks at a launch as you are not selling it, only giving it..but you’d need to check. If you’re going down the home-made route, ginger beer or elderflower champagne??? You can get recipes for both from the internet, and I usually make both, but NOT this year as too much sugar in them!!!!!
    love mags.

  5. Pip Armstrong May 20, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    You only need a licence if you sell alcohol, fine to give it awa :o) x

Leave a Reply

