Help!

12 May

Okay, Toby’s exams start next week and mum has suggested that I send him a little present everyday because I won’t be able to talk to him much, so I want some ideas for what I could send. Small things that are easy to post. I’ve had some ideas so far, but I’m quite tired so I’m not doing very well!

Here is my column, don’t worry Mags I post it every time it’s in the paper :), and thank you Jill for letting me know!

Do you know how to Zumba? My mum and I went to a Zumba class a couple of weeks ago and I don’t think I’ve ever smiled whilst exercising before! It’s a Latin inspired dance workout and really helps you loosen up those hips. Although, I think my younger sister would be mortified if she saw my mum shaking it like Beyonce. The instructor, Natalie, is someone who I used to work with so we both decided that we should hold a charity Zumbathon. If you’re interested in going it’s 5-8pm on the 28th May, £6.50 admission, at GL1 Gloucester and you get a free tshirt! And it’s all for my favourite new charity – have you heard of Maggie’s Centres? They are ‘a place to turn to for help with any of the problems, small or large, associated with cancer’. The particular one we are donating to is the Maggie’s centre in Cheltenham. We took a trip there to see what it’s like and were welcomed with cups of tea and biscuits. There are no clocks anywhere so as to accentuate the soft homely feel and always show that the volunteers, or staff, have time for anyone who is there. When you’re going through a tough time, to have someone think about you and understand that sometimes you just need somewhere quiet to sit and relax, well that’s just priceless. They are also open for anyone who is indirectly affected by cancer and offer support and advice for any issues they may have. If you think that the Zumbathon is something you would like to take part in – and I promise you will have a great time – then please just turn up on the day to do as little or as much Zumba as you like, no matter what age you are. Maybe bring a group of you from the office and get everyone to chip in a bit on top of your admission fee? I’ve heard a rumour from Natalie that there will be cake present so maybe just come to wiggle and munch. It makes me really happy when I see people pulling together to do something selfless to help others – forget about all the bad stories in the news because there are people out there who do do great things for nothing. If you want more information then go to http://www.theknockoneffect.wordpress.com/zumbathon or http://www.zumbanatalie.co.uk .

I saw Corrine today for the first time in ages! We went and viewed the auction that mum, dad and me are going to tomorrow and there is some AMAZING stuff! I’m particularly interested in some columns (of the noun kind). Unfortunately we won’t be able to stay for all of it because we’re going to London to see the Rob Brydon show being filmed. We’re going to miss the furniture, but that’s probably a good thing because I don’t want to go buying anything that I don’t have room for at the moment! Rob Brydon show will be good though 😀

Don’t forget ideas for Toby presents! If only Ted was postable… Ted is doing okay, she’s very very quiet now though and doesn’t move around a lot. I’m leaving her to rest but making sure she’s eating and drinking everyday 🙂

5 Responses to “Help!”

  1. lucy n russ May 12, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    You need to get my husband on this, he is amazing at little gifts, for the past 2 years he has done the 12 days before valentines. Every morning I open up something different, here are some ideas anyway. a lottery ticket, some sweets or chocolate, a new belt (or something small to wear), a mini jigsaw puzzle that spells something out, a crossword (with clues made up by you), a mixed tape (are you too young to know what one of these is?). I could keep going, let me know if you need more xxx

  2. Natalie Bones May 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh Rosie, the column is amazing!!! You have done Maggies proud!!! 🙂 xxx

  3. margaret crisp May 13, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Hi Rosie, thanks for the column! How about getting a photo of you and Toby made into a little jigsaw, (boots do it), a key ring if he drives…
    up early as off shopping this morning!
    love mags.

  4. Alison Croft May 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Rosie, I loved the column and think Lizzie and I will definitely be coming along to the Zumbathon! In relation to ideas for things to send to Toby, have you been to the arts centre at Gloucester docks lately – they have loads of cool little bits and pieces that would be easy to post and look really good 🙂
    Alison and Lizzie

  5. Katie May 13, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Go to places like “hawkins bazaar” and get funny things to make him laugh! Or, write him a peom, draw a picture, make a collage of things the 2 of you love etc. Also, check out like the website that send trial stuff etc, you never know what you might find! For my ex Matts 17th I bought him 17 random things from places like this:) enjoyyyyyy… Xxx

Leave a Reply

