MWC

7 May

It’s 2:07am and this is strange because it actually appears as though my Sunitinib side effects are getting worse even though I haven’t taken it for two days.. Maybe it’s withdrawal symptoms? I can’t sleep, even though I’ve slept fine for this cycle and some of my joints are hurting (in my feet and hands). For some reason my hands are shaking as a type so maybe it’s a lack of vitamins? I’m gonna take one of these:

A multivitamin. See what I’ve done? I’m fixing my lack of vitamins by taking all I need at once – not just a pretty face am I!! Yummy, cherry flavour.

So there is 4 main points of this post that I would like to address.

Firstly – Shop. We went and viewed another shop this morning and it was much much much better, I was having so many ideas for where to put things and what different things could be and mentally planning who could help me do what (yes, you are all going to be roped in dear old friends of mine). This shop is just down the road from the other one we looked at, but it’s vastly better and cheaper! Now, Robin – listen to this – we (by we I mean mum, dad and I) have actually all gone away and have been rolling ‘Retrosies’ over in our heads and what we’ve done is we’ve developed your idea and made one crucial change that has blown the doors wide open to make it a serious candidate……ready for this?……We’ve removed the ‘s’ – kind of like removing a benign tumour – it’s there but it’s not causing any harm, however now that it’s gone it’s better. So ‘Retrosie’ has taken a huge leap in front of all the other names and is wearing shades at the front of the queue and drinking lemonade.
‘Retrosie’ – thoughts please.
I’ve just re-read that and Robin, I know how sensitive you are, don’t read too much into the fact that I may have just insinuated that your ideas grow benign tumours.

Okay subject two – Ted. Grandmother mum provided a helpful maids service to Ted today and cleaned her cage, whilst I made sure that she didn’t escape from her box (Ted that is…not grandmother mum), so now Ted is smelling fresh as a daisy. She appears to have perked up quite a bit and her gammy eye was open fine today so maybe it was just sleepy dust yesterday? Don’t you guys go talking about Ted up in heaven..When/if she dies then she will be keeping me company as a ghost.

Subject 3 – MWC. It was the Malvern Writers Circle (MWC) Young Writer of the Year Competition Prize-giving today so we went to a lovely hall in Malvern and I received a medal and read out my piece. I also got to meet Graham Gardner (who wrote Inventing Elliot) and he signed my anthology. He was very nice and complimented me on my piece of writing. I did post what I entered earlier on in the year but I can’t find it at the moment.

Finally – Newent Community School. I was in bed just now..well..I’m still in bed..but when I was trying to get to sleep earlier I was thinking about school and about how…I’m trying to think of the word but neither ‘grateful’ or ‘thankful’ sounds like enough.. I’ll go with grateful – yeah, I’m so grateful at how much they supported me through everything that I wanted to do with The Knock on Effect and even just the little things like them putting a link to my blog on the schools intranet just really mean so much to me. All the teachers and other staff (I.T guys/receptionists/Mrs Steele/etc) were so supportive (do you remember how many of them did race for life?!) and I just felt like they were proud of me and that I had ‘done good’. It’s a good school, I know some of you at school will be reading this and thinking ‘nah it’s rubbish, I wanna leave asap’ and believe me, I’ve been there..I was a terrible kid; obnoxious, getting detentions, arguing with teachers, all sorts..but I grew up, admittedly I got cancer and that changed A LOT of things, but they supported me when I turned around who I was and I’ve got to say, right now – I’m 100% happy. So thanks, thanks for the education. All the education.

6 Responses to “MWC”

  1. margaret crisp May 7, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Hi Rosie, enjoyeed reading this and your early morning thoughts….hope you managed to get some sleep in the end! I like ‘retrosie’, think it sounds good, so am not surprised its at the front of the queue! Perhaps somes ancient script for it when written over the shop??
    Aaaahhh, mustn’t forget cakes in oven – had better go and take a peep…
    love mags.

  2. Steph May 7, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Hi although I think that Retrosie is a really clever name for the shop I honestly have trouble knowing how to pronounce it – you know, where the emphasis should be – maybe it’s because of my northern accent.I don’t know. I wondered if Retro Rosie although longer would be another idea you might like to consider.
    Where did you buy that, it’s great?
    Oh at that fab new shop Retro-Rosie.
    Unsure about the hyphen. x

  3. Robin May 7, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    ha ha no Im not as sensitive as you thought, I understood your clever analogy immediately and agreed. It is much better without the ‘s’, definately. Really like it now, and that thing that wasnt quite right has been removed, just as the analogy suggested. Genius. My Dad would love you, he is the analogy king.

    Great news about Ted, im rooting for him. What a grandma he has, many grandmas cant even be bothered to wash themselves any longer, so to wash a hamster is a lovely gesture. Wish I could smell him. Nothing quite like the smell of a clean hamster with a new lease of life.

    Well done for winning that medal Rosie. You are a top writer, and a fine analogist to boot. If thats a word.

  4. Michelle May 7, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I think it has to be written right, like Margaret suggested, but you probably have that all in hand.
    Sort of RetRosie – doesn’t work on here as you cannot use different typeface.
    And Robin – clever – if I ever go into business, can I call on you, and Rosie too??? 🙂
    Glad to hear Ted is going up the hill, she’s like her slave – strong in the face of adversity.
    Mic

  5. maddie May 8, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    i will still be calling your shop ‘ret-ro’ in my head;)

  6. Jen May 11, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Ah Rosie I remember well the trouble you got into at school!! 2 words… Mr Kearnes! Haha.

    Loving the blog, keep up the good work 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

