Bento boxes.

7 May

I’ve been searching for stock and I came across bento boxes and the whole japanese food thing; it looks amazing!

Mini pancake bento lunch for preschooler

That’s a breakfast box and in it is: – Blueberry mini pancakes, little pork sausages & ketchup, cucumber slices, cheese triangle, car-shaped molded quail egg, simmered red bell pepper with Korean barbecue sauce.

If I had lunch in these little boxes with all the different compartments I would be in heaven. I LOVE aeroplane food because it comes in all different boxes. I don’t know why I enjoy that so much but I do.

I’ve found loads and loads of recipes on lunchinabox.net so check them out if you’re interested.

Today mum and me spent all day selling TKOE at a craft fair in Stroud, we didn’t sell very much but we met some very nice people. This did, however, mean I had to get up at 7:30 so only had 4 hours sleep…but mum and me wrote down all my potential outgoings throughout the day and I managed to stay awake.

Bed time now though maybe?

7 Responses to “Bento boxes.”

  1. margaret crisp May 8, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    Hi Rosie, think it must be the boxes that you like rather than the food, ‘cos lots of mass catering food is pretty bland. I also don’t like the idea of how often food is touched… I mean how many hands touch a quail eggs before it becomes a rubbery motor car??
    Am off to run garden and craft show in a mo but thought I’d look in beforehand…
    love mags.

  2. SammyJay May 8, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    http://www.graze.com really exciting!
    snacks delivered through the post… comes in compartments and there must be something i can recycle the boxes into… havent thought of it yet.

    best bit of post(mail) yet!

    • theknockoneffect May 8, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      I did get graze boxes delivered for a while (I think I posted about it a while ago) but because I wasn’t working I couldn’t justify £3.49 a week!

  3. Robin May 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Food in a box, food through the post, theres something that doesnt sound quite right about it to me.

    Home made prepared meals in a box though would make me much more likely to buy it instead of popping into a Gregs or similiar.

    Im all in favour though of the growing local produce trend that is delivered to your door fresh, better mechanisms need implementing to make this trend sustainable and greener. In the meantime though, anything that puts some power back into the hands of the farmer instead of them being held to ransom by their only customers ( Tesco ) is a damn fine thing. What have we done ey? Cheaper food for all sounds wonderful in theory, but in the end it isnt cheaper to society atall.

    We have concreted over all of our land, lets grow again.

  4. Dollydimple May 8, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Don’t find the Bento box very appetising but have had a look at graze.com (thanks SammyJay) and have put in an order 🙂 Also got a code for you guys to try it for free! Go to website and put in code H6LRJZ7A and your next box will be half price too! Enjoy!

  5. Michelle May 8, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Rosie – in answer to your tweet (would tweet you back but can’t, you don’t follow me), it’s good service, cleanliness – and that’s the floor, cutlery, crockery, and tables.
    And nice, simple food. And for me, vegetarian food on offer.

  6. Katie May 9, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Must be a family thing, I LOVE compartmented food! Especially aeroplane food, and those cute kiddy plates with the compartments and just… Yeah. I Adore it:) xxx

Leave a Reply

