TED IS REALLY SICK

24 Apr

😥 I don’t want Teddy to die 😦 (for those of you who don’t know – Ted is Mine and Toby’s (the boyfriend) female hamster)

Mr Google says she has either had a stroke or a middle ear infection. I got very very upset this morning when I saw her falling all over the place 😥 I’ve made her comfy and we’re going to pipette her some warm milk later. Oh Teddy :(.

On the other side of things though – I can tell you more about my shoooop! It’s going to be a shop and tea rooms selling vintage/retro clothing/furniture/etc as well as small scale new designers. So it will be a destination shop – where you go for the whole experience of trying things on and have a cup of tea and cake. We went to a car boot today and I’ve already bought two suitcases for display purposes, a glass head, two jumpers, two giant fans, 4 red glasses, some doilies and a Betty Barclay blazer – All for £10!!!!!! My shop is already starting to materialize! Mum and I have been looking at what’s for sale/rent already but we’re not entirely sure on the best location – maybe Malvern? Ledbury just seems too small and Cheltenham will probably be too expensive (we’ll still look of course!).

I’ve chosen to do this because every time I thought about going to uni I just got worried and I wasn’t really sure about it for right now but every time I think about my shop I get so excited! I can be my own boss and everything! It’s going to be fantastic. I’m going to have special evenings where people could come – I could even have a cake club!

Don’t worry, I know there is lots to sort out – for example I would need planning permission and hygiene certificates and insurance and all sorts but I’ve learn quite a lot from all my jobs. I’m not worried, I’m just so excited!

I need a name for my shop but the best we can come up with so far is ‘Rosie’s’ and that’s not fantastic really :/.. Also, if you guys can think of anywhere that you think would be a good location?

Thank you so much for all your support so far, I was thinking that I would have you say oh no don’t do that it’s too risky and you might think I was just saying it as a dream but it was either this or acting that I wanted to do when I was young and this seems a better fit right now :). You’ve all been so positive and it just makes me want to do it so much more! I told Toby on the phone and he sounded really excited about it and happy for me :D!

Everyone needs friends like you.

Take a look at these pictures from our time on the misty beach at Whitby –

16 Responses to “TED IS REALLY SICK”

  1. Same little girl April 24, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Rosie Lea which means cup of tea too 😉

    • theknockoneffect April 24, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      It means cup of tea? Really? In cockney? I like that a lot because that would join both things together! You clever little thing!

  2. Natalie Bones April 24, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I can’t believe you are going to have your own shop!!! I am so jealous!!! That has always been a strange little dream of mine!! I wanted to have black and white tiles on the floor, all retro and fifties-like, and sell amazing things… not sure what these amazing things would be though… 🙂

    I love that your mum is so supportive of everything you want to do. She is lovely. xxx

  3. Dollydimple April 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I just knew it would be Vintage! Such a good ‘fit’ for you. Like the idea of it being a tea-shop too. Wow, you did well at the car boot- all that stuff for just a tenner.
    Soryy to hear abou Ted, it’s horrible feeling so helpless when your pet is ill.
    The photos are so atmospheric.

  4. Coz Al April 24, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Weirdly, I have dreamt before about you and Jo and in my dream you already had a vintage shop!!!!!! Think its a fab idea!

    x

  5. Dee April 24, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Wow – what a fantastic idea!
    If you’re trying to do something and it doesn’t feel right, or there are lots of obstacles – it probably isn’t right. Then you change direction and everything falls into place – your enthusiasm and energy levels sound sky high!

    Cake, clothes, furniture…….hmmm sounds like somewhere a lot of us would like to visit and will utilise many of your numerous skills and talents 😀

    Sad about Ted 😦 Sounds as though you are doing your best for her….

    Loving the misty photos 🙂

  6. Kath April 25, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Sounds wonderful; I love vintage. We went back to Slaidburn yesterday just for the day and there’s a shop there like you describe – lovely old stuff and new together – beautiful. Must’ve been closed at Christmas.

  7. margaret crisp April 25, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    Hi Rosie, like your photos of you in the mist…A shop selling retro clothes with cakes sounds good.I like Ledbury a lot, even though its a small town…Malvern I don’t really know. Certainly Cheltenham would be expensive.
    Its still very hot here, will go walking this afternoon!
    love mags.

  8. celia butler April 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Love those photos, really arty. And very glad that Ted is better, obviously made of stern stuff like his owner! Regarding your shop, did you ever see the Dragon’s Den episode on the Vintage Patisserie that Deborah Meaden sponsored?
    Have a look on http://www.vintagepatisserie.co.uk.
    It was fantastic and I even emailed Angela after the programme to say how great I think she and her concept are (which is not something I ever do really, so shows how much impact she made). Definitely worth a look for some inspiration and ideas to add to yours.
    Go girl! x

    • theknockoneffect April 25, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Yes I did see that one! I thought it was a great idea too! The idea with my shop/tea rooms is that the tables will be randomly placed throughout so it’ll be like sitting in someones bedroom or something haaa!

  9. robin April 26, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Sorry about Ted.

    Wow those photos are seriously cool, like amazing shots, really impressive, whos the photographer?

    Your shop sounds wonderful Rosie

    xx

    • theknockoneffect April 26, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      I can’t take any credit for these because I’m actually in the pictures…it was my dearest mother 🙂

  10. Alison April 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    A shop sounds like a great project but, and it is a big but, you are going to need an awful lot of money to get it off of the ground. Banks are not keen to lend these days either. The shop referred to above on Dragons Den, the lady was wildly out with her budget and the one big thing they said was she had vastly under estimated was equipping the shop with shelving etc.

    We are also in a recession and it isn’t going to end any time soon. Even the big names are seeing a downturn. You will need to do a proper business plan and projections before you do anything else. Not trying to put a downer on your plans because I have no idea what financial backing you have. Just warning you you will need a significant sum of money to do this or else a wealthy backer!!

    Best of luck.

    Ali xx

    • theknockoneffect April 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      Hiya Ali, thank you for your advice – don’t worry, I know it will need A LOT of money to start up and I am doing my research and asking other start up shops what it has cost them etc. I’m also starting small and in a smaller town (where rent is less) and then once I’ve got the hang of it I can upgrade ha :D! Ledbury is doing quite well at the moment and it is very up and coming in this sort of business. I am writing a business plan and I will plan and project for different scenarios. I am personally putting £5000 in and I am also very fortunate that I can have the help of my mum and dad. I always overestimate things but I did speak to someone in a shop today who opened up last year and it cost her less than £500 to start up so I’m very positive 😀 XX

  11. Alison April 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Helloeee! I don’t think you will get away with £500!!! You are going to need to seek out and buy your stock with cash I suspect as unlike the catering trade or selling new items you will be scouring places for individual items and not buying on account.

    You will also need tables, chairs and all the other stuff that goes with any sort of catering. Things like commercial coffee machines and dishwashers don’t come cheap. There is a Makro at Cribbs that does wholesale foods, if you progress this become a member or somewhere similar like Costco.

    Any sort of food involves hygiene certificates and inspections and you will need various insurances such as public liability. I know a decent broker so yell if you want the number.

    You will need reliable staff that can step in if you are unwell on a particular day or for a period of time. With this comes the need to know how to do payroll and account to HMRC for their NI and tax etc.

    Most businesses don’t make a profit in the first year with all the outgoings and ideally you need a contingency fund to see you through this.

    You need to figure out the running costs of the shop versus likely sales for a year and the resultant profit or loss.

    Please proceed with great caution, a friend asked me for advice about 3 years ago re opening a wedding shop. I have been a financial adviser since 1994 btw although currently de-authorised whilst caring for my parents. I told her not to entertain it. She ignored me and ended up well over £100k in debt and lost her Mum her house.

    xx

  12. maddie April 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    RET-RO 😉

Leave a Reply

