Memories.

21 Apr

We’re a family who play board/card/wii games together (I know right!), Sylvie is talented at Monopoly and Dad has a gift for Scrabble. Today was a day for Pit.

If I were to die, I want times like that to be what is remembered. There is a lot of laughing and I feel so pleased to have these people as my family.

I’m just pleased that I have times that are worthy of remembering and I want the rest of you to have times like that, which when you are gone will be what makes the ones left behind smile instead of cry.

🙂

Sylvie’s birthday today so happy 12th birthday to her! We clubbed together and bought her an iPod Touch – bets being taken on how long it takes her to lose it or drop it etc ;).

I have had an invitation to the open day of the new Teenage Cancer Trust Young Peoples Unit at the new Birmingham hospital – how exciting! I’m chuffed, of course I said yes!

6 Responses to “Memories.”

  1. Lucy n russ April 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    You really need to introduce us to some kilburn games. My two are the perfect age now to learn them. We started with monopoly at Christmas and they love it! X

  2. SammyJay April 21, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Just returned home from the start of a easter weekend.. ur post made me smile because my fondest memory of a family holiday was a caravan trip to aberwysthwth (spelling unknown?) and it rained so much and all holiday that we spent the whole holiday in the van playing rummy/dominoes and such like (it rained so much the car broke down)… to write it on paper it would sound boring but its my best holiday memory with my mom, dad, sister and lil bro who unfortunately is no longer alive… this is what i remember and this is what makes me smile… what a lovely thought provoking blog! great!

  3. Amy April 21, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Lovely post. Board games always ended in war in my family, especially Monopoly haha we were all too stubborn. I love memories though and that we have so many i can’t even pick my favourite!

  4. margaret crisp April 22, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    Hi Rosie, scrabble is my favourite but John won’t play as I always seem to beat him as I get competitive! I have a fascination with words and miss crossword competitions over here!
    When I was young we rarely played board games and usually took separate holidays, Dad being unable to leave the farm. My first holiday was to stay with a french penfriend for a month and I was 13. I hated it and hardly spoke the whole time! Before that we went to Devon for a few days with mother, but always felt it wasn’t quite right without Dad.
    Am off to village on bike, enjoy your day.
    love mags.

  5. Robin April 22, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Ah Rosie you are so right.

    I agree and yes my favourite memories too with my family are playing silly games, my favourite was boggle? A word game. You have an egg timer and you put different letter sticks into a sqaure to make i think a 3 x 4 letter board, and you then have to make as many words as possible before the egg timer runs out.

    Sammy Jay that sounds very like my family holidays too! Caravans, rain, car breakdowns etc!

  6. Lin April 22, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    I have lots of good Kilburn memories……many of them involve food….all of them involve laughter…..
    Feel better sweets and wish Sly a very happy one and give her a hug from me:)
    See you next week hon..! :))
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

