Sylvie’s birthday eve.

20 Apr

Sylvie’s birthday tomorrow. She’ll be 12. That means 5 more years of horrible teenage attitude. Oh man.

Ha nah, I can take it – I’ve been there, I know all the tricks!

My side effects are starting again 😦 I had a bad night – waking up feeling sick and all throughout today I’ve felt very sickly. I couldn’t even have a pudding at the pub because I knew it would make me feel terrible :(. Fantastic pub, by the way, http://www.ellerbyhotel.co.uk – if you’re ever up here then pop in there for a meal because they are lovely people.

We went and played on the beach this morning, it was so misty! I didn’t take any pictures though.

My my I am not feeling my writing today. I feel like an amateur. I’ll leave you with my favourite words: colonoscopy, cataclysmic, eloquent, incongruous, anachronism and tautological. Some of them I like because of the way they sound and some of them I like for their meaning.

6 Responses to “Sylvie’s birthday eve.”

  1. margaret crisp April 21, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Hi Rosie, and happy birthday to Sylvie. Pity you’re feeling the side effects again and feeling sickly…lets hope it passes double quick. Watching the sea will make you feel better – I love doing that and we hope to visit the beach more this year.
    Am off cycling in a minute, then its shopping day and translation this afternoon. Keeps me out of mischief!
    Have a good day, love mags.

  2. Sue April 21, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    My favourite word is soup, Gwen’s is shimmery (you should have guessed that) and Evie’s is webbled which I know isn’t a real word but means spending too long in the swimming pool and we invented it yesterday. Happy Birthday Sylv and say hello to the North Sea from me. The best thing about paddling in the North Sea is putting your socks on afterwards.

  3. Robin April 21, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Hey Rosie

    sorry your feeling bad stuff, but mags is right the sea will make you feel better, it always makes everything better ( sunamis aside ) , happy birthday to Sylvie, god yeah all those years as a teenager, i dont think i could handle living with a teenager ever, if i have children one day then as soon as they turn 13 il be in the shed if you need anything! ‘Enter with extreme caution’ ‘Beware of the rockweiler crossed with a great white shark crossed with a wolverine crossed with a crocodile, it mames even when its playing, and today its really pissed’.

    Great words by the way, you’d be surprised how many people dont have favourite words.For the record, mines scalextric, and it always has been.

    Hope u feel better

    xx

  4. Michelle Gabriel April 21, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Hope you’re feeling a wee bit better, and I agree with all the comments about the sea, just watching it is calming. And the sound of it too.
    Ahh, tautology, great word.
    Mine are: gneiss, schist, metamorphic, bonxie, tarsals

  5. Coz Al April 21, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Damn those side effects, they better sort themselves out pdq!
    My favourite words are; Valetudinarian (and I think we can safely say you are in no way one of these) and felicity.
    Hugs for you and looking forward to seeing you guys tomorrow if all is well.
    x
    a

  6. celia butler April 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Colonoscopy? Don’t get that one at all! My favourite word (phrase really but it sounds like one word) is ‘mae’n dibynnu’. It sounds like ‘mind the bunny’ and means ‘it depends’ (in Welsh). Can’t explain why though…hope you feel better very soon, are you overdoing it a bit? And happy birthday to Sylvie. x

Leave a Reply

