Sutent.

9 Apr

Sutent/Sunitinib – you know my drug 🙂 Well..the one I’m not on at the moment because of my platelets and stuff but anyway when I was in Glos hospital last week the blimming pharmacist took my Sutent away to destroy it! Can you believe that? £2,500 worth of MY drugs taken away to e destroyed. I’m incredibly lucky that the primary care trust agreed to fund it and then Gloucester just go and take it when I wasn’t looking! If I get put on it again then I will have to reapply for funding! Don’t worry though because dad rang them to ask for it back and mum is going to follow up on Friday.

I am full of energy and I put on 10 pounds in the last two weeks! I’m no longer malnourished! Amazing how quickly my appetite returned once I came off the drugs! My scalp is still really sensitive and dry though :/ but we bought some special shampoo.

I’ve been invited on holiday with my mums cousins (although we just call them cousins) isn’t that just fabulous? I so badly want to go but we have to wait and see what the doctors say, next week, for what they want to do with me. How sad – I’m not even in charge of my own holiday!

7 Responses to “Sutent.”

  1. Coz Al April 9, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    No one is in control of this holiday, it has a life of it’s own! We need lots of positive thoughts and vibes so that the onc will let you come!!!!!

  2. Dollydimple April 9, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Oh no, I worry when the words ‘positive vibes’ are mentioned. Please can we all do our best to send the vibes so that Michelle’s elderly cat doesn’t keel over with the strain?
    We too have had perfectly good drugs destroyed, I understand why they need to do that but…
    Wow, 10lbs in 2 weeks- glad it’s you and not me! That’s good going, keep it up.

  3. One of the cousins April 9, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Fingers crossed that u can make the holiday! If not u and Toby can come and cat sit if you want! I hope you get to come though 🙂

  4. Coz Al April 9, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I wouldn’t cat sit, that cat is broken I tell you.. broken
    😉

  5. barbara April 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Just go and enjoy it!I am sure there will be a hospital nearby if you need one.

  6. margaret crisp April 10, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Hi Rosie, hope that you’re able to go away for a few days…where is it? Perhaps if you can’t stay for the whole holiday you can go on a shorter trip for a couple of days…sort of meet onc. half way????
    love mags.

  7. Michelle April 10, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Love this ‘Oh no, I worry when the words ‘positive vibes’ are mentioned. Please can we all do our best to send the vibes so that Michelle’s elderly cat doesn’t keel over with the strain?’ And what do you think Eshaness is doing at the moment – zzzzzzzzzzz on the bed, her default position 🙂
    But thank you Dollydimple for thinking of her. She sends you lots of purrs and says you are a caring lovely person.
    I’ll do the vibing, I’m sure a holiday would be great for you Rosie, just what you need.
    Lovely day today. Enoy the summer because this is it.
    Mic

Leave a Reply

