Honey I’m home!

7 Apr

That’s right – I spent last night in my very own bed and, my god, aren’t I glad to be back! I have missed you all millions. So basically my blood levels are up, but still pretty low so I have to keep growing them (thanks for your help!) and I’m off my sunitinib for the moment because that is what lowered my platelets and caused the bleeding from the ulcer to start again.

I don’t know the next plan of action but I’m seeing the team in Brum next week. That’s anther thing – my oncologist, Dan the man, has been promoted, to Professor, and has moved to Liverpool 😦 so he’s not my oncologist anymore :(. Big congrats to him of course..but still..He was my constant and now I don’t know who is in charge of me.

Anyway, I’m fabulous and just need to catch up on my T.V that I missed all week ;)..I know I know..waste this lovely weather?! I have a bit of a cough and a cold but it’s not any sort of infection, it’s just the regular stuff.

Here’s my column, it was in the paper yesterday:

I had an internal bleed a few weeks ago and it really shook me up. I was getting used to the whole cancer idea and the fact that it could just lie silently in my body, only raising its head for scans. But then I acquired a stomach ulcer, due to the pain killers I was taking, got rushed into hospital and, with that, everything became real again. It’s a scary few days when all your blood is falling out of various orifices and you need 11 units of strangers red cells (donate! Donate!). But what really changed is that suddenly I was seeing all my peers differently. I’m at the age where everyone else is running off to university and living the uni high life of drinking till you’re sick, then drinking some more. Nowadays there is no way not to know how much person X drank last night or the fact that Mr Y is eating a fry up to cure a hangover, Facebook has it all there waiting for you when you turn your computer on. To me this is unbelievable; why would you want to destroy your body when there are people out there who would give anything for theirs not to be broken? How could anyone think it okay to laugh about how ruined their liver is? I posted this on my blog and someone very wise emailed me back – When you’re 19 you’re supposed to be able to batter your bodies and get away with it. You’re supposed to be naive about life and try everything once. Teenagers aren’t meant to live their lives being thankful for the fact they haven’t got some life threatening disease because it’s not normal to have cancer. Ignorance is bliss, right? You don’t know what it looks like from the other side unless you’ve lived it and existing with a feeling of invincibility must be quite something. Although, two bottles of wine in one night is too excessive and pictures of you in that mini skirt is not something I want to see. I think both sides of this issue need to tone it down but I still feel that I don’t drink enough to be accepted in the university community. Have fun but don’t ruin yourself. If you want to keep up with how I’m doing then please check my blog at http://www.theknockoneffect.wordpress.com.

 

Also, I found out yesterday that I won the Malvern Young Writers competition in my category! Imagine that. http://www.malverngazette.co.uk/news/8952013.Young_writers_out_in_force/

 

20 Responses to “Honey I’m home!”

  1. jill Clayton April 7, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Welcome home! It’s great news that you’re back. Eshaness must have been putting in really strong vibing – but the award you won all by yourself. Congratulations. Love, Jill

  2. Julia April 7, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    It’s been quiet without you, but in the meantime Sylv has had 15, yes FIFTEEN, piglets!! One is receiving special tlc at the moment as he’s a bit small and can’t compete for teats at feeding time. Will send pics.

    • Deb Walker April 7, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Wow …. Walkers most impressed!!!!

  3. Jan - Bristol April 7, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    YEY!! great news you are home 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. TV Rob April 7, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Hooooray!
    Was worrying.
    Really glad you’re home.

  5. Robin April 7, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Woo Hoo Rosies HOME.

    Im delighted you are back home that is amazing news.

    It hasnt been the same without you, iv missed you.

    Ooh you must have lots to catch up on.

    Lots of love and best wishes

    Robin

    xxxxx

  6. Dollydimple April 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    doubly pleased- you are home and your prose won the competition! Can you post your entry on here for us all to see? Good column too, hopefully it will make people stop and think about their actions.

  7. Alison April 7, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Nothing like your own bed, glad to hear you are feeling better and have been allowed out just in time for a hot hot hot weekend.

    Ali xx

  8. Michelle Gabriel April 7, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Sooooooooooooooo pleased you’re out. Happy day 🙂
    Brilliant news
    Hope you keep on with the recovery.
    Mic x

  9. celia butler April 7, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Missed you Rosie – so good that you’re back home. I was reading your blog/article and thinking to myself ‘what a really good writer this girl is’ – and then get to the news about your prize! So many talents – please be very proud! x

  10. Dee April 7, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    WELL DONE for escaping the hospital 🙂
    WELL DONE for your thought provoking column and
    WELL DONE for your Young Writer’s win – well deserved 😀

    Nice to have you back 🙂

  11. margaret crisp April 7, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Hi Rosie, am sooooo pleased and relieved that you are back home again – and you were able to post us an update too! Read the bit about an award…where can I read the winning article???? You write so well, Rosie, so do please keep on with the book idea!!
    Days are so busy here at the moment – its really hot and everything needs watering/planting/whatever. Still managed to fit in bike ride to village though, and a short walk…I even managed to clean up the kitchen a bit and clean the fridge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Off to do more outside work now, but will do it with a smile on my face. Why??? Because you’re home!
    love mags.

  12. Kath April 7, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Glad to hear you’re home – we’d been hoping no news was good news…

    Congratulations on the competition win!

  13. Deb Walker April 7, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Dee has summed it up in three simple statements ….I whole-heartedly agree!
    Sorry to hear that your ‘Dan the man’ oncologist has moved out of your area (- good for him though, with his promotion)- it’s a bit unnerving when the person ‘driving’ your treatment regime goes away …there is a lot to be said for continuity of care!!! I’ve seen 4 different oncologists so far …. and my ‘permanent’ one forgot that I was his patient last time I saw him, lol!!! Whatever next ….?
    I’m sure you’ll have some fantastic experts on your case in Brum …. ;-D
    Thinking of you lots …
    Deb n gang xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    ps David and Rach both give blood …. they are overdue to donate now …. so, I’ll send them off when they are home for Easter!

    Yep …. get out there, all you people, and give some red stuff 😀

  14. Lin April 7, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    So glad you’re home:))))))
    Sorry to hear about Dan, but the care in Brum has been solidly good no??…so sure it will continue:)
    Fab news about the writers comp….gonna post it?
    Hoping we get together over Easter week…..hugs and kisses, babes…missing you
    xxxxxxxxx

  15. Pip Armstrong April 7, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Hooraaaaah you’re hoooome, yay :oD

  16. Liz Kidd April 7, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Glad that you’re home Rosie and great news about the prize. Very well done!
    Liz Kidd
    Ex colleague and friend of your mum Jo!
    Love to all

  17. Debbie April 8, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Oh Ro, thank goodness you’re back! Brilliant news about the writers’ award too, and richly deserved as you are so good at painting vivid pictures of what is going on in your life. You must be on cloud 9, and set up for a fantastic weekend. Happy days! X

  18. Michelle Gabriel April 8, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    Eshaness sends mega purrs to you,

  19. TV Rob April 8, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Saw this http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-12999000 and thought of your writing on the subject of excessive drinking.
    Adds even more weight to your angry wisdom.

Leave a Reply

