Inspirational.

26 Mar

Okay I have a question for you. Yesterday I was looking on the Katie Piper Foundation forum and someone had started a topic asking if people thought it was right for people with burns/scar/disfigurements to be called brave:

“This might be a bit controversial but I am sick of the word brave being brandished about for people living with differences, I do not see how leaving the house, or going out in public should be praised as being brave.

Yes people may react differently, but so would they if you were beautiful, yet people getting that kind of attention are not classed as brave.

Are people who look different supposed to hide and if they dare to show themselves be called brave? I see no difference between Katie going to a nightclub and a similar 25/26 year old doing the same thing.”

I think you shouldn’t be called brave for just going out but you are brave for the way you deal with the things people say. Know what I mean?

Well, anyway, a lot of people have called me inspirational and I think I can only be called inspirational if I have actually inspired people, SO, which of you have I inspired and how? This isn’t an ego boost – I just want to make sure my little charity work has worked.

New topic: We went to Drayton Manor Theme Park today, because Calum won some free tickets..obviously I didn’t go on any exciting rides but I did walk around for hours and didn’t collapse- weyhey! We saw baby Marmosets

cutest thing you’ve ever seen? The baby one would fit all snug in my hand.

Don’t forget that The Knock on Effect is at the Brewery in Chelt tomorrow for their craft fair. See you there between 11 and 5!

8 Responses to “Inspirational.”

  1. Amy March 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    My personal list of how Rosie is inspirational:
    1. You set up a charity and have kept it going for some time now
    2. You’ve worked at the Red Cross
    3. No matter how ill you are, whenever I have a problem you always want to help sort it
    4. You have a heart made out of pure gold
    5. You always put others before you
    6. You dedicate a hell of a lot of your free time to TKOE and as the lady said in the ‘spoon theory,’ your spoons are very important, so to spend your spoons on TKOE rather than the average teen who probably spends more spoons on nando’s rather than charity, is very inspirational. If you get me?
    7. The fact that I could probably go on all day about how inspirational you are is pretty inspirational!
    xxxxx

  2. Michelle March 26, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    And my list
    1. You’ve lead me to believe that there is so much good being done by lots of people, you being one of them.
    2. And following this, I have found out more about teenage cancers and how it affects people and I have a better understanding of it – helpful in my line of work
    3. You’re inspirational in that you are not scared of saying things as they are, and you’ve helped people you don’t know. You’ve helped people talk about their fears, for family and friends. That’s the great thing Rosie about you, by reading this blog, and passing it on, we all talk, and laugh and cry about our experiences and our family and friends. We share our love, because of YOU. YOU’VE done that.
    4. You steal my money without me realising it 🙂 That’s ace 🙂 🙂
    5. You inspire me to raise money for your chosen charities.
    I hope you keep doing this Rosie, the world needs you and people like you.

  3. Michelle March 26, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    PS Cute baby marmoset, wow, how beautiful is that!!

  4. Nathan March 27, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    The reason I think you’re inspirational is because you’ve always put your friends and family first, I know you’ve been scared by things, but you try not to pass that fear onto others, you treat everyone as an individual, and instead of just rolling over and thinking that you’d be dealt a rubbish hand in life and that nothing would ever work out, you turned it around into something positive by setting up TKOE and letting others know that they aren’t alone, and trying to help them. And this has inspired me by making me want to be the best I can, make the most of what I have got instead of dwelling on what I haven’t.

  5. mike March 27, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    For all of the reasons above, Rosie, but especially Michelle’s point about fear.

    People are needlessly scared of so many things that are comparatively inconsequential, personal issues they overdramatise and use as excuses to stop them fulfilling whatever dreams they might have. Few want to face up to the finite time they have on this planet, and yet here you are, with perhaps (but hopefully not) a more finite time than most, maximising what you can do in terms of putting your message out there and raising awareness for teenage cancer. You remind us all that fear is something that can & must be fought and overcome.

    If that’s not inspirational, what is?

  6. margaret crisp March 27, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    ALL THE ABOVE, BUT ALSO:
    1.you’ve proved that teens aren’t all bad, despite the adverse press they get pretty consistently.
    2.You’ve encouraged people to get tested for cancer (including me) – fear of the unknown is perhaps worse than the fear of knowing.
    3.You make me get up early in the morning, just in case you’ve posted…
    4. you’ve shown that you can still enjoy life whatever the circumstances…and that indeed you need to take ‘time out’ to enjoy whats on offer. A life of 100% work and at the end you’ll realize you’ve wasted your opportunity.
    5.trivia is not worth arguing about
    6.Looking after yourself matters -to you – but also to others- or should!

    Hi Rosie, too time to consider whilst hoeing the garden..
    love mags.

  7. celia butler March 27, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Just to add to all of the above: the Cambridge dictionary definition of ‘inspirational’= ‘making you feel hopeful or encouraged’.
    And that’s just what you do all the time. x

  8. Robin March 27, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Rosie you are my hero, its as simple as that. You have made me feel better about humans in general and made me too go and get checked for cancer.

    I already realised that life was for living and to always try and be happy no matter what, but you reminded me of that and cemented it again at a time when I myself was beginning to feel a bit low for the first time in my life.

    You are a living legend to me x x x

    You are an inspiration

Leave a Reply

