Okay, I’m back again but..

25 Mar

I had to show you this – http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory-written-by-christine-miserandino/

That is the most brilliant way of describing being ‘sick’. I wish I had written it but I didn’t even realise that that is what it was like..and it really is. You all have to read it – if you don’t read it then I will know because of my stats. But seriously, if you don’t do anything else today just make sure you read it.

10 Responses to “Okay, I’m back again but..”

  1. Dollydimple March 25, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Wow, that spoon theory is an excellent way of describing illness – I have been the custodeon of spoons for my son for a few years now. You learn to forward plan and anticipate but also to seize the moment. It’s still a fascinating read- I don’t think I have ever truly understood until now. It’s quite a long read – I read it whilst eating porridge, helping with Maths homework with ‘Arthur’ blasting on the TV! Always one to multitask.Off to work now. Have a good day all x

  2. margaret crisp March 25, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Hi Rosie, a clever way of describing being ill…I hope you had a good nights sleep and that you are gradually feeling your spoons are coming back…
    Am up early, though nothing special on today. Guests for supper last night,though am pleased that I still kept to my diet and sent them home with rest of pavlova and mince pies to avoid temptation today! will go in garden this morning, I expect, but need to make bread first.
    love mags.

  3. Coz Al March 25, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Nail on the head with the Spoon theory! There are definitely elements of that for being a carer too, for the person you are caring for and yourself. I think in some ways the spoon theory works to explain that there is only so much energy you have for yourself when you are thinking about someone who is disabled or ill most of the time.

    I will definitely be recommending this read to a few people!

  4. celia butler March 25, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Liked this a lot. Maybe you could write a briefer version along similar lines for one of your columns? Wishing you silver spoons in your daily quota…x

  5. Michelle Gabriel March 25, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Excellent

  6. margaret crisp March 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Hi Rosie, let us know when your Citizen article comes out, won’t you?!
    Off to have a shower as covered in earth from gardening…its been a beautiful week here weather wise.
    SLEEP WELL tonight!! Horlicks??
    love mags.

  7. Debbie March 26, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Thank you Rosie for sharing the spoons theory, and helping us understand. How was the film?

  8. Amy March 26, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I feel enlightened. It was such a clever way of looking at it/explaining it. If there was any way to make someone understand even just a little bit, that was definitely it! xxxxxx

  9. Jan - Bristol March 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    My younger daughter suffered with ME so I understand the spoon theory completely! she’s a lot better now 🙂 so there is hope out there for anyone coping with this.

  10. Ros March 29, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    an absolultly brilliant analogy……I will use this in my support work with young people…..it truly makes it so real.

Leave a Reply

