Becoming Human.

22 Mar

No, I didn’t watch it. I generally don’t trust spin offs. (For those of you who have no idea what the hell I’m talking about; Becoming Human is the spin off from Being Human on BBC three.)

We did Shakespeare in acting class today. Did you know that Shakespeare actually invented loads of words? We got words such as ‘accommodation’ from him. Also, when actors were going to perform his plays (back in those days) all they were given were their lines and their cues so they had no idea how the play would pan out..what an interesting way to perform. I think, nowadays, Shakespeare is way over analysed. Don’t get me wrong, I think he’s amazing in the way that he was just so clever with the words and everything but he wrote his plays to be performed; not to be read.

I’ve Becoming Human on in the background, so I’ve just caught the end of it..should I watch it? Ah, Family Guy is on now, of course I’ll watch that.

Good news on the nausea front! I haven’t felt sick for a while! I have got terribly dry skin on my nose though..did I say this the other day? It stiiiings.

Hey, guess what? TKOE (The Knock on Effect) are having a stall at the next Brewery arts and crafts fair, in Cheltenham. More info can be found here http://www.jswevents.co.uk/. Come say hi and bring us some doughnuts – we’ll be there on the Sunday.

4 Responses to “Becoming Human.”

  1. Robin March 22, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    I think id like to see a play where the actors only get their lines and do not know the script. It sounded familair when you said it, and I certainly do not know much about shakespeare, so perhaps Iv heard about this method or similiar being used in a film or something. Not the best anecdote really, but hey its late!
    Tell us more words that came from him please, the way you started the sentence I put the kettle on and steadied myself for a barrage of Shakespeare inspired/invented wonders to follow, but only ‘accomodation’. Which is no small achievement in itself (I mean Mungo Jerry only really came out with ‘In the Summertime’, and no one was left dissapointed, but then in song terms that was in a different league to the one that ‘accomodation’ resides in word terms), but being Shakespeare n everything I dunno Rosie I just think I expected more!
    Do you want to write a play as well as act in them? I think you should write a play. About you perhaps?
    Think u should do it, it would be really powerful, funny and well just go for it.
    You are guaranteed the star role that way too! Schweet.

    I mean if your not feeling nauseus any longer then why not ey. Alright so you got a bit of a dry skin nose ( yeah u did mention that dry skin tuther day but if its still dry then keep tellin us ), millions of other things to do, relentless Family Guy episodes to watch, but you can find the time Im sure.

    Hope your dry skin gets off yer nose now x x

  2. Jan - Bristol March 22, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    haha loved the donut comment – you’ll get loads now! 🙂
    glad the sicky feeling is going. x

  3. margaret crisp March 22, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad you’re feeling a bit better and not so sick! I used to take part in the school plays at Newent, but haven’t done any acting since! I remember having stage fright and always looked at my lines again before I went on, just in case I got tongue tied…my mind used to go blank worrying!!
    Is there an article in the Citizen soon?
    A nice day again today, just about to vacuum up as John will then mop ALL the floors on the ground floor – a ritual done EVERY morning! Do you think this housework thing can be overdone? I mean, its nice to have a clean house, but wet feet every morning from wet tiles can be a bit over the top!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Did belt up two notches yesterday – highly exciting after all this starving and walking…am well chuffed!
    love mags.

  4. Michelle Gabriel March 22, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I’d give Becoming Human a go. Deffo not anywhere near Being Human, but it was okay.
    As for Shakespeare, meh, over-rated IMHO. And (back to the old arguement) how do we know he wrote all of those plays. Did he plagiarise? Have bits been added to his plays, like in the old tales. Did he write the bones and then as they were acted and improvised, put the meat on the plays?
    Hope your dry nose gets better.
    Mic

Leave a Reply

