Pain man.

5 Mar

He’s a lot more than just a pain man. He’s the doctor from St Michael’s Hospice and he is amazing. He’s there for all things cancer related including just having a chat. Mainly it’s for help with side effects and looking after your (and your carer’s) state of mind. I was talking to him for a good hour and he just understood everything I was saying and it was just so nice to talk to someone outside of the situation and not have to explain what Sorafenib is or go into detail on an operation. Don’t get me wrong, I love talking about my cancer and explaining all the little bits – like I’m an expert – but sometimes it’s too much. I feel such a relief to have someone to talk to..I might not even talk to them but nice to know that there is someone there (trained) in case I need to :).

 

Actually went out to Gloucester on a little shopping trip today. Wore me out quick though :/ I wouldn’t be able to have surgery even if I wanted to because I’m just not strong enough..that makes me feel out of control. I am not very laid back recently am I? I need to go to a spa don’t I?! Mum was mean – I saw a top I liked but they didn’t have it in my size so mum bought it in her size instead! Hah 🙂

No side effects..well, interesting side effects..are showing from my pills yet and my poo has got better 😀

4 Responses to “Pain man.”

  1. jill Clayton March 5, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    It must be a relief to know he’s there in the background if you need him. I’m glad you managed some retail therapy!
    Side-effects are odd things. My mother was startled one day when my father started talking about little green men on the windowsill. He’d been given diuretics and was dehydrated!

  2. margaret crisp March 6, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad pain man was able to help and nice to know that he’s there for you if you want to chat!
    Obviously your mum and you have the same taste! It is years since I went clothes shopping, but once I’ve lost a lot of weight it’ll either be clothes shopping or safety pins!
    love mags.

  3. Pip Armstrong March 6, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    It’s good to feel that there’s somebody who understands and knows what they’re talking about when you need them, much better than struggling along alone x

  4. celia butler March 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    A spa sounds like a brilliant idea. Always worth checking lastminute.com if you don’t already, they often have really good spa offers. And good news that you’ve found a helpful support in your pain+ man and know that you have the back-up if you need it.
    Your trip out seems like a step in the right direction from the exhaustion front – because you probably couldn’t have done it at all last week. x

Leave a Reply

