Room 9.

21 Feb

Right, I promised you a big post and so I’m going to do it now or else I never will.

So.. Do you remember last weekend? 12th Feb I had been put on these new drugs called Diclofenac – which is part of the Ibuprofen/Naproxen family – to try and get my shoulder/neck pain under tight control. I was up to date with them and making sure the dose was up so that it could work the perfect amount and it was all going swell throughout Saturday day time and then I took my night time one and went off to bed. About 11 o’clock I was awake and the drugs weren’t working so I couldn’t sleep, I woke up mum and made a nuisance of myself but we calmed down and I went back to bed to try and attempt sleep again. About 1.30am I still had this incredible pain in my shoulder and this time I was feeling sick and a bit…’funny’ so I rang mum to come down and comfort me and we decided I would have a shower. So we tootled upstairs, went into the bathroom and suddenly I was just on the floor, feeling like I was going to pass out or something. It was like I couldn’t hold myself up and so mum woke up dad, who came in complaining about the fuss but then realised that it was more of a fuss than usual. I transferred to their bed and had to lie down because I felt so so dizzy, whilst mum and dad wondered whether to call someone or to give me some more drugs or just sit with me whilst my head calmed down.

Then I threw up blood in a bucket. I know..what the hell am I doing throwing up blood in a bucket? So that decides it – dad rings an ambulance and basically we get a paramedic in his car and then an ambulance arrives with two women. There’s a hairy bit where they have to carry me down the stairs, strapped to a chair, but we make it down the drive to the ambulance and I’m whisked away to Gloucester A&E..stopping briefly on the way because my blood pressure dropped reeeeeally low.

The next bit I can’t really remember because it’s like 6am and I’m feeling entirely rough, but I’m put into room 9..which is actually an alcove in a big room..and they take some blood and give me some morphine and get mum some toast (which she told me later, was the time when she realised I was actually really really ill). Then they give me some blood and then, somehow, I got from there to ward 7A..I don’t remember much really, I can remember that they wouldn’t let me drink or eat anything all day and all I could think about was an ice cold coke..Oh my god, I’ve never thought about drinking so much and it really was all I wanted to do. I would have given anything. See isn’t that weird – what sticks out in my mind is wanting  drink..yet I don’t remember being given blood or any of the doctors.

It’s making my head messy to think about it so I’ll move onwards. On Monday I had an endoscopy and that showed that I had a stomach ulcer that had clotted but still resulted in all my blood falling out and me having to be given 11 units of new blood over the week! The consultant reckons that the cause of the ulcer is the pain killers I was taking so now I can’t ever take the NSAID group of anti-inflammatories because my body can’t take it. So no Ibuprofen/Naproxen/Diclofenac or anything else in that collection.

Can you believe it? I was a day from death! If we hadn’t called an ambulance and left it then I would have bled to death from internal bleeding! Insane.

So over the course of last week there was a lot of pooing in front of strangers and having a high heart rate. I met some lovely nurses and patients – including a lady called Pat who had dementia but was so so funny (‘Pat, where’s your husband?’ ‘He went mad so I shot him.’) She was so lovely but kept moving things around and taking stuff off the nurses station haa! I was given 11 units of new blood, had about 10 attempts at getting a cannula in me (THAT’s how bad my veins are!), ate some tasty ham sandwiches, had a second endoscopy to make sure everything had stopped oozing aaaaaaand like a million blood tests.

You wouldn’t believe how quickly you lose any embarrassment of talking about poo..I could tell you all about the colour and consistency..but you know..I really won’t because you don’t wanna know.

There was also a lady who kept peeing on the floor..But I left soon after she arrived.

I think that is all to say now..apart from that I’m all swollen still but doc says it will go down during the next 2 weeks. I had lost a pound and a half when I weighed myself this morning hah.

I would also like to add a mark of respect for my great aunt Jack who had her funeral today. We’re watching Glee and One Born Every Minute tonight due to her love of music, dancing and babies :). Sorry I couldn’t be there.

12 Responses to “Room 9.”

  1. Trudy Robertson February 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    wow Rosie,you did have something to write about,and i bet it did not take too long.1 1/2lbs off all ready.How is your shoulder?
    Trudy.

  2. jill Clayton February 21, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Bloody hell! I don’t normally swear (conditioned by all those years teaching) but it’s the only phrase that fits.
    Anyway, Very glad they caught it in time. Love, Jill

  3. Sue, Evie and Gwen February 21, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Flippin’ heck, that’s one hell of a ride even for you, who must be well used to some white knuckle tours of the NHS!

  4. Dollydimple February 21, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    and there was me thinking you were just attention seeking- not! Sounds a bit of a hairy ride so don’t do it again, ok?!! My son has had quite a few blood and platelet transfusions accross the last few years and I am eternally grateful to those people who have given up their time and their blood to save lives. 11 units- now that’s impressive. I bet you feel wiped out now, take it easy and keep peeing away those excess pounds x

  5. Coz Al February 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    Great post Ro,

    You were missed today but I hope to see you soon. Don’t be sorry you couldn’t make it, you are in the right place and recovering, which is the most important thing and I’m sure you are saying goodbye in your own way. Mum would have loved Glee, those toes would have been tapping like crazy but I’m sure she would have been open mouthed in astonishment to see the difference in how her old work place is run. She would have been well chuffed her name is now published too!
    love and hugs
    Al
    x

  6. Lucy February 21, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    :0 I held my breath the whole time I was reading that!!!
    🙂 thank you for thinking of mum 🙂

  7. robin February 21, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    oh my sweet lord, Rosie im so glad u made it to the hospital when u did. Sounds terrifying.

    You didn’t happent to get Pat’s phone number did you by any chance? !

    Im happy you’re back, hope you get back on track and don’t need those dastardly NSAID group anymore either.

    xx

  8. Dee February 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Wow – 11 units. You lost a lot of blood. You must be pretty strong to get through that. Glad you’re home and taking it easy.
    I watched ‘One born every minute’ too. It’s always so emotional when the baby’s born – they were lovely couples tonight weren’t they?

    Coincidentally, my daughter (who is a similar age to you) went to give blood for the first time last week – but they wouldn’t take it as they said her veins were too small for the needle. She was disappointed so they told her to come back in a year. Not sure if her veins are likely to grow… as she hasn’t since she was 14 – ah well.

    *whispering*
    (About the poo – I expect it was black and runny :O ?)

  9. Debbie February 22, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Good grief Ro! What a roller- coaster. I feel dizzy just reading your story, which had me gripped right to the end. Hope lots of wonderful things happen for you this week.

  10. margaret crisp February 22, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Hi Rosie, must have been terrifying! Glad you’re over it now, though. A time for rest and relaxation, I think.
    love mags.

  11. Becks February 22, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Okay I think you actually do need 2 boxes! and maybe some cookies :/ Great post Im glad you’re feeling a bit better but you scared me! xx

  12. Roomybonce February 22, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Good Lord Rosie, that sounds like an ordeal n’ a half but glad you’re back more or less intact.

Leave a Reply

