Column.

10 Feb

In reply to Mags – My column was in on Tuesday 🙂 But here it is if you missed it or it’s not online:

I love post. Although it has to be half way decent post – no catalogues from places that you don’t remember ever shopping at, but a tax code letter is alright and hospital appointments count. It’s even better if you find a hand written envelope because that’s the most exciting, especially if it’s nowhere near Christmas. Around your birthday you get cards and you train yourself, as a child, to tell which ones have money in and which ones are from people you’ve never even heard of. I like to save my birthday cards up and open them all at once. Parcels are the cream of the crop, made all the better when you’re not expecting anything. That’s something I’ve found as a silver lining with the Royal Mail delays – I’ve forgotten that I’ve ordered anything, so when it turns up weeks late, it’s a lovely surprise. You see it sitting in the porch when you come up the drive, hoping that it has your name in big black letters on the front. Bring it inside and find a corner, that isn’t covered in tape, to rip it open. But always make sure that you don’t damage that nice bubble wrap, believe me, it will be useful at some point in the future.
I don’t like emailing people, I agree that it is a lot quicker and convenient, but it isn’t as thoughtful as a hand written letter on your best paper. Maybe emails should be strictly for work related documents – deadlines would be a nightmare if you had to leave room for postage time as well! University students would be in disarray if they couldn’t email that essay over at 11:59pm, just in time. But a letter to Grandma or a catch up from a long lost friend, now that should have some time and effort put in – choose your best pen on your smoothest paper and let the words flow. Doesn’t matter if you make a mistake, as a last resort you can write it out again – it’ll make it all the more worthwhile when you sign off. Find a matching envelope; stick a first class stamp in the right hand corner and away you go! Now just get on with your life and, depending on the speed of your pen pal, you should receive a personalised letter sometime next week.

Whaddya think?

8 Responses to “Column.”

  1. Robin February 10, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    What a lovely article.
    However, I fear that if email was only to be for work related correspondence then many people would lose touch altogether.

    Although then I wondered whether or not that would be such a terrible thing after all. If you wouldn’t make the effort to stay in touch with people by traditional means then is it really worth staying in touch with them at all? In this social network age, it appears to me that many people seem to spend far more time conversing with people that they never would of done otherwise, than the people that they really like and would make that effort to stay in touch with. Long before this social network phenominon people did almost the exact same thing, I call this ‘friends of convenience’, where people end up drifting towards groups of people that are, well, easier to stay in touch with. I promised myself that I would never have these kinds of friendships, and no matter what the distance or effort involved that I would only have friends that I love and liked to spend time with. That has not always been easy, but far more rewarding. The old saying, ‘A road to friends house is never long’, taken literally, is complete baloney, but taken in its true meaning is beautifully true.

    You have made me determined to pen a letter myself, thankyou xxx

  2. margaret crisp February 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Hi, Rosie, thanks for posting this…in actual fact I have two letters awaiting replies at present, so this afternoon could well see me curled up with pen and paper!
    love mags.

  3. Coz Al February 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    great column Ro, I love getting post too – esp letters and cards. My favourite is when the Amazon fairy has been. xxx

  4. SammyJay February 10, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Ok so i have had an emotional rollercoaster with post this week, a handwritten letter and gift from a dear friends mom 🙂 followed by a speeding penalty 3 points and a £60 fine…
    then to reignite happy vibes some TKOE earrings c/o u guys! fanxs!

  5. celia butler February 10, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Great column Rosie – know just what you mean. I like getting post too, but here in Abu Dhabi I don’t get any (except for the odd parcel when I order something which then comes by courier). There are no addresses as such here, just P.O.Boxes, so people tend to get their post sent to work. Then when I come home to the UK there are piles of post waiting for me and I put off opening it because it’s so daunting! x

  6. Sue H February 10, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    I had a lovely parcel waiting for me when i came home today- beautiful tea towels 🙂

  7. margaret crisp February 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Hi Rosie, letters written and ready to post – and caught the thief who has been nicking the wood we’ve been chopping. Caught him red handed and made him unload his car, then reported it to the police, giving them his number plate registration!!
    Cutting wood is hard work and I didn’t much appreciate having it pinched for the second time this week…
    Anyway, all well here now, and am up to date with post though not yet with emails…will try and get on to that tomorrow depending on weather..!
    love mags.

  8. Katie February 19, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    This makes me think of when we used to send each other letters in the post! And you would send me snapped coloured pencil leads as I collected them, and in return I would send you empty ink cartridges!
    Awww 🙂 hope your feeling better my lovely. I’mma send you a postcard or a letter 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

