RE: shoulder pain

31 Jan

Ha second post in an hour – I am busy today!

Look what I’ve found:

Another cause of shoulder blade pain could be cancer of the liver. Liver cancer occurs due to an abnormal cell growth in the liver. It is of two types. Primary cancer indicates the onset of malignancy in the liver itself; while secondary cancer of the liver occurs when a cancer starts someplace else and spreads to the liver. Apart from pain around the right shoulder blade or pain between the shoulder blades, the other warning signs include discomfort in the upper belly on the right side, jaundice, hard lump in the belly and abdominal swelling causing a feeling of fullness.

So it’s completely normal. Doesn’t tell me how to stop it though 😦 So far today I took Naproxen at 7am and put a hot water bottle on it, then I had one dose of morphine at errr..I don’t know, some time, then I tried some deep heat and when that didn’t work I had a hot shower and then I had to have anti sickness at 10:15 because I was feeling sick.. Now I’m on the sofa feeling rubbishy and waiting for dad to get back, whilst trying to find a comfortable position.

7 Responses to “RE: shoulder pain”

  1. robin January 31, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Well found Rosie, glad u got to the bottom of that !?

    Hope u find comfort and your Dad gets back soon, no i mean NOW.

    I know it doenst help you but my thoughts are with you n im trying to send u some positive energy, whatever that means. I just dont know what else to do.

    x x x

    • theknockoneffect January 31, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      I enjoy your comments Robin..please don’t stop writing. You bring up an interesting point..why do people say ‘soon’? I will be saying ‘now’ from now on!

      • jill Clayton January 31, 2011 at 11:36 am #

        The trouble with shoulder pain is that it’s so near your head. You can’t move it away from you as with bad toe. The only things I’ve tried when hit with arthritis or frozen shoulder are heat, pain killers and massage.
        The massage didn’t work but that may be because my husband was more used to massaging cows and other “large animals” He was a vet.
        If I think of anything, Ill tell you straight away but meanwhile I’ll just join Robin in sending mental power. You can have all that I can spare! Love, Jill

  2. jill Clayton January 31, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Hi Rosie, I found this online. I see it suggests ICE (as with sports injuries.) Do you have any frozen peas? You could wrap them in a towel so you don’t get wet!
    “Treatment should help relieve the pain and help you restore your shoulder to normal function. Pain relief strategies include active rest (you can and should move your shoulder, but you shouldn’t do strenuous activities like lifting heavy objects or playing tennis). Application of ice, taking nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory medicine such as ibuprofen (brand names: Advil, Motrin) or naproxen (brand name: Aleve) and, occasionally, an injection of anti-inflammatory steroids can also help”.

    • theknockoneffect January 31, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      I never thought to go the other way and try something cold! I will try it if it gets unbearable..it’s just on the edge at the moment. I suppose part of it is that you can’t actually treat the cause of the pain can you? Because it’s to do with the liver and not the actual shoulder – such a complex thing the human body! Thanks for finding the info!

  3. Amy January 31, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Feel better soon! I would ring you but as you know, I am without phone and no landline use….and the flatmates are useless! xxxxx

  4. jill Clayton January 31, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Just wishing you a good night’s sleep tonight. I hope you’ve got your family safely home. It has occurred to me that it may not be the cancer. After all, having cancer doesn’t make you immune to things like repetitive strain injury which you can get from something like constantly playing solitaire on a laptop – I’m addicted!n Love, Jill

Leave a Reply

