National Red Cross Assembly.

26 Jan

Did I tell you? Did I tell you? I don’t know.

Well, I applied to be a young co-presenter at the National Red Cross Assembly and I’m one of three people who have been shortlisted!!!! I had to send a video in of myself doing some talking (just to show how I came across) and I had all sorts of problems because I couldn’t send it via email as it was too big and then dropsend.com was taking forEVER and then it wouldn’t upload to youtube and so I ripped it to a CD and then played back the CD and it was all jumpy and horrible and I was FREAKING OUT because the deadline was nearing and oh dear I haven’t put any commas in this sentence so I hope you’re not reading this out loud (although I don’t know why you would be) I think it’s alright because in my head I’m really excited and am talking really fast and so don’t need any breaks and even though I’m still talking about it I haven’t put any commas in..AND breath. So I decided to put the video onto my USB stick and send that off with a nice little note and address label saying ‘could you send it back pleasepleaseplease?’ So yeah, some time went by and I received my pen drive back and just now I’ve got an email saying I’ve been SHORTLISTED!

Next stage is that at the weekend 100 young volunteers will watch the 3 videos and vote on who they like the best :D. Right..I shouldn’t get too excited but it’s lovely to even be nominated…………..:’) I would like to thank my mum, my dad, bro, sis…Toby of course. All my blog readers – I couldn’t have done it without the confidence you’ve given back to me. Also – grandma and grandad..I love my grandma and grandad.

I want to meet George and Pip’s dog. George and Pip are my mum and dads friends but like they’re my friends too but mainly their friends you know? But they have a new dog and I would like to meet him. Also, we’re going to Julia and Pauls on Friday and I’m making a cake to take with us..well it’s not like a cakey cake but like it is a cake..Actually I don’t really know what it is. I bought a ‘desserts’ cooking b0ok – I hate hate hate cooking but I love cookery books – and I want to make this cake thing. I need chocolate to go in it, right, but I forgot to buy any when I was working at Thorntons on Sunday so do you think I should just buy some regular chocolate from Ledbury OR do you think I should make the trip out to Gloucester later/tomorrow to get some nice chocolate from Thorntons? Ledbury is like 10 mins away and Glos is like 30.

15 Responses to “National Red Cross Assembly.”

  1. Robin January 26, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Thats amazing news Rosie congratualtions and celebrations woo hoo !!! GET IN ! !

    Havnt got a clue what to do about the chocolate though, my friend, who “claims” to be a chef, did me a right treat the other week, rather drunk he made what i can only describe as a melted twix in a glass, as that is exactly what it was. Whatever you do dont do that.

    Good Luck

  2. Dollydimple January 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Congratulations on being shortlisted! I have just read the advert for the post and particularly liked the sound of an ‘older professional male presenter’!! Not so keen on the feeling comfortable infront of 800 people – yikes!
    Just get some quality chocolate (ie not the value stuff!) from the supermarket and save yourself the journey, your life is busy enough as it is without over-complicating it.
    I quite like it when you write in that unpunctuated style cos I can feel your excitement.

  3. Kath January 26, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Wow! Good luck with the final hurdle.

  4. margaret crisp January 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Congratulations Rosie on being shortlisted!!! Well done!
    Hope the cake is delicious…if it is, how about giving us the recipe?? Mind you, I’m dieting, so perhaps that wouldn’t be such a good idea…..!
    love mags.

  5. Sylv the Pig January 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    I think you should go and get some proper chocolate.

    And make enough cake for George and Pip as well as they are coming to see me on Saturday with their dog.

  6. Trudy Robertson January 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Good luck Rosie,that sound really cool,hope you get it.ledbury sound a good idea,save on petrol for your little car and your pocket.Just buy some real good choc,hope the cake goes well.
    Trudy.

  7. Amy January 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    eeeeeeeeeee CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! How exciting!!! love you xxxxxx

  8. Coz Al January 26, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I’ve just read this out loud to my parents and I nearly expired from lack of breath! 🙂
    Good luck for the weekend but you are a winner anyway!!!

  9. celia butler January 26, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Well done you – really hope you get this. Re choc or any other urgent essential -I’d go for local every time if there’s the option. x

  10. Jan - Bristol January 26, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    hahahahahahaha….. I didnt read it out loud but did realize that I was holding my breath as I was reading it in my head! and then I laughed out loud! my husband is sat here wondering what i’m laughing at so i’ve just had to read it out to him.

    Thank you again for giving me my daily laugh 🙂 and congratulations on being shortlisted!

  11. Lucy January 26, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Well done you!!!! You make me smile 🙂

  12. SammyJay January 27, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Howde, well, incase you haven’t purchased the choco yet, you cant go wrong with green a nd black chocolate!

    i love cooking ! VERY exciting about the Red cross thingymajig!
    How many people will it be in front of?! scary but cool!

    having a catch up on blog now with a cuppa and a slice of cake mmmmmmmm

  13. Pip Armstrong January 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Brilliant, well done and GOOD LUCK, we’re going to Paul and Julia’s too for lunch on Saturday so if you’re there you will meet Paddy dog x PS Go to the petrol station on the way into Ledbury and get the chocolate, save the environment and you a boat load of hassle, nobody’ll know the difference x

  14. Natalie Bones January 28, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    GO ROSIE KILBURN!!! Excellent news!
    And you should buy some Thorntons chocs, but you know that already!!
    The Big Block is only £3 for 500g!!! Do it!! xxxx

  15. Michelle January 29, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Late Mic, as usual.
    WELL DONE Rosie, superstar 🙂
    Hope the cake went down well, I’ll catch up with the rest of the blog in a min.

Leave a Reply

