Memorable.

24 Jan

What’s your most memorable moment?

I don’t know what my most memorable moment is but there’s this one time I remember  –

I did write about it when it happened but I wanted to share it again because I thought about it at work and it made me smile.

I was at Thorntons (working) and these two ladies came in – one of whom was wearing a lovely hat..I could also see that she was bald. (This was at the time when I was also bald but I was wearing my wig) When they came up to the till I asked the lady where her hat was from, she hesitated and then said ‘you really want to know?’, I nodded, and she said ‘it’s actually from the cancer centre in cheltenham.’ and then I smiled and took off my wig and we it felt like there was a mutual respect between us.

I don’t know why that sticks but it was lovely :).

Full day at Tesco tomorrow, we’ll see how I go 🙂

4 Responses to “Memorable.”

  1. margaret crisp January 25, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Hi, a lovely magic moment, Rosie! Very thought provoking.
    Enjoy your full day at Tesco, but do ask for a rest if and when you need one!
    Walking up to the village in a mo, part of the new fitness regime!
    Love mags.

  2. Coz Al January 25, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I’ve a couple of memorable moments and one memorable decision; to do with you 🙂 I think one of those moments that you’ve described though wasn’t involving anyone else but when I had a flying lesson and the instructor said ‘you have control’. Scary, brilliant, fun and exhilarating!
    That’s definitely up there in top moments.

    Hope you are having a good day!…xxx

    • jill Clayton January 26, 2011 at 7:06 am #

      Hi Rosie, At my great age (64) I have had lots of memorable moments. One was when travelling from Cugley (on the road to Huntley) to Newent, where I taught at the comp.
      I was travelling behind Eric Green’s bus and he signalled that he was pulling into the side. How kind, I thought and pulled out to overtake. THere was a HUGE lorry filling the space between bus and bank. I rode into the ditch, the lorry passed, Eric Green got out of the bus and gave me a thoroughly deserved telling off while all the children in the bus watched. It probably made me a safer moped driver!

  3. robin January 26, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Iv had plenty of bad memorable moments, but my best came from something bad. With my then girlfriend having already left for blighty i was all alone in Antigua, Guatamala, with her bank card. Which that same day got stuck in a machine and everything I tried to get it back failed. Being me I had obviously left visiting the machine until i had ran dry so i was penniless. With a bad guitar and a 20 a day scorched voice i sat down in the centre of the city full of dread at what i was about to do. But during a very ropey rendition of ‘Blue Suede Shoes’ a huge crowd of children all gathered around me and began dancing and jumping about full of joy, then I was fed and watered and earnt enough to get a hotel and phone home for help. All of this kindness and salvation came only from some of the poorest people on earth whilst rich fat Americans just walked past. It was incredible and i will never forget it.

Leave a Reply

