Spread the love.

10 Jan

Do you know someone who doesn’t read me? Well your aim for today is to tell at least one other person about this blog. No, you can’t just put a link on facebook – you have to actually TALK to them about this! I need to get marketed because there really isn’t enough positivity around here.

 

I was talking to Natalie at work yesterday about cancer and it makes me wonder why it’s such a taboo subject? People who are reading this who have cancer – do you like/not like talking about it? Do you want to talk about it? Or no?
Is it the people who have cancer who make it taboo or the people who don’t have it that do?
I know that before I had cancer, or I suppose even afterwards as well, that I always have questions. Like I know someone who’s had a mastectomy and I had loads of questions about that. And I also know that I LOVE talking about my cancer. What is it that makes it taboo? And why do people feel that cancer has such a higher status than human beings? It’s not a king. Also there is no need to be scared of it..because then you’re just giving it the power ;).

Interesting.

My new wardrobe just needs it’s doors putting on and then it’s ready..weyy!!

9 Responses to “Spread the love.”

  1. Michelle January 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Interesting Rosie.
    I do spread the word, am at home at the mo, so will do more spreading tomorrow at work.
    As for the cancer, well, I had a narrow escape. I went to the doctors 4 years with dire rear, a bit of blood loss and weight loss. My doctor thought it was IBS but sent me for a check up and they found I had polyps in my bowel. They went to snare them but they’d grown out of control and I ended up having part of my bowel removed. The polyps were found to be pre-cancerous and I have regular check ups (lovely colonoscopy, mmm) but I’m out of those for 5 years!!!!
    I’m lucky in that my doctor sent me for a check up, some doctors don’t. I campaign for bowel cancer because I escaped it, by a pip squeak. I have problems but nothing compared to what could have been, glass so half full.
    And I really struggle to understand why people are frightned of talking about cancer. Yes, it’s a horrid disease but then so is MS, Parkinson’s, AIDS, whatever. It’s a bit of the Lord Voldemort, isn’t it. Don’t talk about it, and it will scare you more. Talking demistifies things I think. Which is why you are brilliant, and why I recommend you to people.
    So keep chatting away, keep talking about it, keep it in the open. And I’ll keep nagging ppeople to get their bums checked out when they are ill 🙂
    Love and hugs, Mic x

  2. Jan - Bristol January 10, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Hi Rosie 🙂
    I agree with you and Mic…. keep talking! My dad has just had the okay after radiotherapy for throat cancer..yippee! Silly old sod ignored the sore throat and coughing up a bit of blood now and again for at least six months ’cause after having half a lung removed with a tumour five years ago “didn’t want to worry us”. I’ve kept my girls informed all the way along, of course they worry but they’d be more annoyed at me if I didnt say anything and then he popped his clogs. As you say live for the moment! He’s 80 in March and is becoming a bit of a grumpy bugger but i’m still a daddy’s girl:)

    Resolutions….. mine are more “WishIhadnts” as in “I wish I hadn’t eaten those 4 chocolate oranges while I was doing the present wrapping, as I can hardly do up my work trousers”….

    Will be thinking of you on Wednesday. Take care
    Jan x

  3. Dollydimple January 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I talk alot about my son’s cancer and it is definately a taboo subject with the people who don’t have it. It has become a routine part of our lives. Some people find it difficult to hear and so they avoid you- that’s their problem, not mine. Many people are astonished as to how matter of fact I am about the treatment and it’s side effects.

  4. Lucy January 10, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Ha I was talking about it today with someone and they asked me for the link so I posted it on facebook,, does that count?

  5. Deb Walker January 10, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Yeah … hmmm …. cancer …. that ‘untamable monster’that shows no mercy, I guess. If you can’t kill it outright, then it ‘gets you’ …. I suppose that is what people have in the back of their minds ….. why it is so taboo to talk about!
    I don’t know why people are more scared of it than, as you say, MS, Parkinson’s, AIDS …. or other, lesser known conditions. A lovely friend of mine took ill on New Year’s Eve, went downhill rapidly … spent 8 days being ‘stabilised’ in ITU and then suddenly died yesterday … aged 42 … married, with two little kiddies …. Acute Pancreatitis – Never even heard of this before!!!

    Life on Earth is very fragile for all human beings…. It will end for all of us at some point in time … and when we least expect it too, for a lot of us!

    So …. like you, Rosie … live it to the full and make the most of every day that we have …. if we live for a 100 days or a 100 years ….. each day is a gift of life!

    Sorry … this all sounds a little morbid … but you know where I’m coming from! Life is full of uncertainties …. but, the physical end of it, at some point, is certain for everyone.

    I am keen to share my cancer story to anyone who’ll listen and it’s interesting that, when people know you are OK about it, they are keen to listen and to ask questions too!!! If it becomes part of your life … it becomes part of who you are …. so share it!!! …. my-story ….. their-story ….. history!

    I’m soooooo glad that you are who you are Rosie. You are a blessing to many, without fully realising it I think!

    We’ll be thinking of you Wed.
    Love and God bless,
    Deb n gang xxxxx

  6. Sasha January 11, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I have never had cancer but I have had close members of my family have it. I think the problem with cancer and other illnesses for a lot of people is information and naivety. People don’t have the information about it and they only hear the word cancer, and not ‘getting better’ or ‘recovery’ or ‘chances’ or ‘beating it’. My dad was diagnosed with lung cancer 16 years ago, I only knew about it because I overheard my mum on the phone telling my nan. He died 3 months later and I was almost 9. My brother and I had to go to school on the day of the funeral, no discussion was had. To this day I am not actually over it and can barely speak his name without crying. I believe my mums decision to keep things from us is the reason for this. Nothing was explained to us, we were kept hidden from it and then after he died she rarely mentioned him again. I have had other things wrong and chose to google it, read everything I could about it and my mum told me she wouldn’t have bothered. I felt that even if I knew the worst possible outcome in advance, then I could prepare, I would understand all the big words doctors would say, and I was a lot calmer. I think you’re a great inspiration Rosie and I will definitely be telling people about this site xx

    • Michelle January 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Sasha
      I’m sorry about your Dad. I think it’s very sad that things like this happen but maybe (and I’m not saying this is the case) your Mum couldn’t face or cope with your Dad dying and it was easier to pretend it wasn’t happening? By not telling you then it wasn’t happening.
      I know people who have done this, by not talking about it, it itn’t happening, their world isn’t falling apart and it’s the only way they can cope. In the end though, something does crack.
      Me, open book, even though I wish sometimes I wasn’t.
      My Dad died of cancer 12 years ago, I still miss him, my Mum died nearly 4 years ago (just before my op – great timing!), miss her, hubby’s Dad died last May. But the only consolation I can take from all of these is that they were older, all over 70.
      Always remember about your Dad, he will be forever in your heart and your head, no matter what happened. And you can still talk to him. He may not reply, but talking to him could do you some good.
      Take care, hugs to you
      Mic x

  7. Dom January 11, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Hi,

    I’ve messaged you on twitter about helping to promote TKOE. Get back in touch if you want!

    Dom

  8. Sue H January 11, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Hi

    I can remember when cancer was very taboo, back when treatments were not very advanced and the disease was considered a certain death sentence. Even though things have improved immensely with targetted treatment, new drugs and earlier detection, the public attitude takes time to catch up. Hopefully every new generation will have a more optimistic, less superstitious attitude to the disease. TKOE is making that happen 🙂
    I think its also a very British thing to not want to say the wrong thing, so perhaps that plays a part.

Leave a Reply

