Column

9 Jan

My column was in yesterday but if you missed it then here you go:

So it’s coming up to that time of year again, when everyone thinks about the future. What will the next year hold? What do I want to change about myself? How can I make 2011 better than 2010? But doesn’t that make you wonder why 2011 needs to be made better? Why weren’t you at your best this year? It is a ‘new year’ again, the same as we had last year, so surely you made all these ‘let’s make this year awesome’ thoughts on January 1st 2010 anyway? That must mean that the beginning of the year is when everyone is at their ‘best’; the most pure human they can be. Well, this is fortunate for me because my birthday is January 3rd so that must mean the best service and the best of everyone for me – lovely!

So what do I want out of 2011? Should I really be planning my whole year when really the most important time is the ‘now’? Taking this into account, I should really be trying to ‘better’ myself the whole time – throughout the whole of the year. But that brings up the question as to why am I not already my best?! I have just read this out to my little sister and her reply was – “I don’t feel, every year, that I need to make myself better; because I’m already the best!” Now this may sound like an arrogant eleven year old, but I think it’s exactly what the rest of us need to think. Maybe we shouldn’t choose resolutions we should be doing anyway. That would mean Stopping Smoking or Getting Fit cannot be a resolution because you should be doing that already! You don’t need a new year to change a habit – it should be just something you do.

I suppose my point is that we should choose resolutions that are hopes or dreams – maybe to take that trip you always wanted? Or to learn guitar and play in public? I guess then, my main resolution will be, as it has been for the past two years, to become cancer free. Although I feel this is a slightly hollow resolution to make, as I don’t have any control over my cancer.

 

What do you think?

 

My scan results on Wednesday. I’m not thinking about it, but whenever I look at my hospital letter I get a bit nervous. I don’t really know what they’re going to get me to do next. Maybe drugs but I think it depends on how much the tumours have grown (they will have grown..there’s no way they couldn’t have.) If they want me to do anything then I would prefer to have chemo again because it was always a routine and I knew exactly how I was going to feel at certain times. We’ll see. As it’s gone on I’ve become less and less agreeable to operations.. I used to think they were quite exciting but now they make me a bit nervous.

Was meant to be Zumbaing tonight with Natalie – Seriously? You don’t know who Natalie is? She’s only the most up and coming Zumba instructor around! You should get to one of her classes. Mum and me were gonna go but I’m not strong enough at the moment :/. Next week?

3 Responses to “Column”

  1. jill Clayton January 9, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Hi Rosie, I found your column very moving. You know that on Wednesday people all over the world will be thinking of you and wishing we could help.
    I must be getting old. What is zumbaing? Is it linked to the Zambesi? Do you need special equipment? Love, Jill

  2. Coz Al January 9, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Great column Rosie, really insightful and so TRUE! Thinking of you all on Wed. xxxx

  3. margaret crisp January 11, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Hi Rosie, accessed this column and saw your picture in the paper the other day too!
    Went translating this morning and have a couple coming this afternoon with the idea of speaking in french. Otherwise, its raining so can’t do wood! Still have sewing to do though!
    Thinking of you tomorrow, love mags.

Leave a Reply

