6th form presentation evening.

6 Jan

It’s the 6th form presentation evening tonight – I haven’t finished yet but I won an award so I’m invited hah 🙂 It’s called the Endeavour award and it’s ’cause of all my charity work. I hope I’m better by then..I feel stupidly achey and tense. Also last night I got a bad cough out of nowhere but it appears to have gone now..

I don’t know what to do about school and whether to go back or not..I don’t need A levels for my course and what’s the point in spending a loada time doing something that I’ll hate? If I change my mind then I can pick up my A levels at any time and I could spend the next year getting experience and stuff.. Which would be more valuable to the uni.

Eughhh.

7 Responses to “6th form presentation evening.”

  1. margaret crisp January 6, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    hi Rosie, first of all, CONGRATULATIONS on getting an award. Another of many, you must have a huge mantelpiece full of yrophies by now…and Calum’s got his trampolining ones….
    Have you had your scan results yet? Perhaps you could ask at the hosptal what they think of you returning to school before you make a decision.Personally, I think the more qualificationds the better as you may much later on wish to change your career path and then you can show qualifications…but it’s up to you, of course.

    Have had a pleasant day today as have been shopping and bought an english paper to read tonight! Also a friend brought me back the New Year take a break, so have entered all the competitions, plus a Telegraph one for 10,000 pounds. In my head, I’ve won already though I won’t spend it till the cheque has been banked!
    Is your citizen article in yet? Saw the article on your handing out cheques and on your becoming 19, but haven’t seen your column yet.
    love mags.

    • jill Clayton January 6, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      I’ve been looking through the Citizen but can’t see it yet. Maybe tomorrow. Congratulations on the school award – well deserved!

  2. celia butler January 6, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    One of the best things about the British education system is that there’s the opportunity for anyone to do anything they want to at any time. What are you most motivated to do at the moment? That might be your best guide, apart from your mum and dad of course. Congratulations on the award and hope you feel better soon. x

  3. Dom January 7, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Hey! Long time reader, first time writer!

    I’d say do your a-levels…you don’t know what career path you’ll end up on. During my time at uni I saw people start and then leave courses because they didn’t enjoy the full time experience and so had to go back and do a-levels because they’d not got them in the first place. I’d say, you’re already there so do them. You can do work experience during the holidays to boost your credentials but a-levels are a good backup.

    Oh no, I sound like my Mum!

    Keep smiling,

    Dom

  4. Sue H January 7, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Have you had a look at the OU? If you wanted to do something but not attend a school or college regularly it could work for you. Most longer courses start in Feb or Oct but they do a good range of shorter courses (10 points) that start through the year, lots of interesting topics.
    http://www.open.ac.uk

  5. Jill Clayton January 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I still can’t see your column in the Citizen, Rosie. It might have got mixed up with the article on Monday. I would try re-sending.
    Re OU, I think that’s a very interesting idea. What sort of “experience” did you have in mind for your drama course? You’ve already had as roller-coaster of emotional experiences. Love, Jill

  6. Michelle January 8, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I’d agree with Sue, the OU is a fab thing to do. If you do the Maths or Enlish short courses they are the equivilant of an a’level and OU stuff is well regarded by employers as it is very independant learning (she says, doing her level 3, 60 pointer and knowing that come June she’ll be sobbing ‘why am I doing this’ 🙂 )
    But, in the end, it’s you that has to do the learning, and it’s you that has to struggle through the information overload whilst your brain is playing other games. And it’s very difficult and only you can decide. But if you’re not enjoying it, well…

Leave a Reply

