Hospital news.

20 Dec

So my mum is friends with the other mums from hospital..they have their little mum unit and they all talk together in the kitchen and swap numbers and make each other teas and coffees. My mum texted Kates mum the other day – do you remember me talking about Kate when we first met them? How they were all scared in the kitchen and didn’t know what the hell was going on? It was like a year ago – Kate only has one arm. Well technically she does have two arms just only one hand..I don’t really want to get into the specifics of it because I don’t know how she likes to talk about it..none of my business and we’re getting off the subject slightly. So yeah mum texted to see how Kate was and Kate is doing well – she’s just finished her year long course of chemo and they are having a check up soon. So that’s all nice. Can you feel the ‘but’ coming? The ‘however’? Kates mum had a phonecall off Adams mum and Adam isn’t doing too good. His cancer has spread into his shoulder and the exact quote was ‘they are just hoping they make it till Christmas.’ Isn’t that just….I can’t even think of the right word.. 😦 That’s the third person I know who’s died. He may not be dead yet but you know..well actually he might be – I don’t even know do I? Mum got the text on Saturday so there has been time.. Mental.

I’m in the Guardian tomorrow. Just a quote but WOW!

I don’t like the snow..what if I don’t get to see Toby before Christmas? He’s stuck on the hill 😦

8 Responses to “Hospital news.”

  1. margaret crisp December 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Hi, oh dear, you don’t have much good news to impart today – such a pity for those concerned. It’s always terribly sad when people aren’t doing so well isn’t it – especially when you’ve known them.
    Hopefully you’ll get to see Toby before long – no doubt you’re able to phone him. It’s not quite the same, but at least thats some thing to hang on to till the snow melts!
    Keep your chin up, love mags.

  2. Dollydimple December 20, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    It’s really tough when you live in the cancer world like we do. By offering/getting support from others in similar situations you have to take the positive and the negative. You can be buoyed up by good news one minute and knocked down by bad the next – demonstrated by this post. On the whole, I am a glass half full type of person and try to dwell on the positive and swiftly move on from the negative- it’s called a coping stratagy!Don’t you find that you get a really silly sense of humour though? Some of the jokes would be considered a bit ‘sick’ by others but laughter is great medicine.

  3. Michelle December 20, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Rosie, sorry to hear about your friends. It’s such a cruel world, but at least you knew them, and they you, and that must be a great comfort to them. I know that when I recommend your pages to people I do it saying how great you are, and how much respect I have for someone like you, and all the other teenagers doing great work like yourself. Good on you πŸ™‚
    And I’m not happy with you (BIG GRIN!!!!), you’ve sold christmas cards to my friend and I’ve given her a card of yours and guess what? She gave me a card – yep, exactly the same one I gave to her – pah! What’s that all about? πŸ˜‰ Serves me right for putting your pages on Facebook all the time πŸ™‚
    Well, I’m a Grauniad reader, get it ever day, so will look out for you tomorrow.
    And snow??? What snow??? We’re in snowless Rushden. Oh well, suppose I should get sorted for work tomorrow.
    Take care
    Mic

  4. margaret crisp December 21, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Hi Rosie, my tea towels have arrived and they are great…many thanks! Hope you have a good day!
    love mags.

  5. Julia December 21, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Hi Rosie, we’re stuck on our hill too. No post (so no Christmas cards and tea towels) and we have 5 turkeys and 2 geese to deliver to people for their Christmas dinners. Think it will be a dodgy downhill ride on the quad bike with turkeys and geese in the trailer!

    • jill Clayton December 21, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

      Hi Rosie, If it’s Adam Bird, you’re talking about, he was still with us on Monday (father’s blog) and enjoying a visit to Santa. Obviously, he is very seriously ill but still getting a lot out of life.
      What should really please you is that at Adam’s next hospital stint, his parents will be staying at the Clic Sargent house – the charity we all contributed to thanks to the courage of you and your Mum.
      You are helping Adam and many others.
      Happy Christmas, Love, Jill

  6. kirsty December 21, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    well done for gurdian quote x

  7. Coz Al December 21, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Love seeing the pic and the comments in the Guardian…they must have a nice little file of your contributions by now… you must be a little virtual folder on their library computer!
    x

Leave a Reply

