Neck/shoulder pain.

13 Dec

So I went to the doctors today because of the pain in my neck and shoulder and I’ve been prescribed Naproxen – which is a stronger pain killer. I’ll pick that up tomorrow and we’ll see if that helps! I’ve been using a mixture of Nurofen, Oramorph, Deep Heat, hot showers and hot water bottles and nothing seems to get rid of it completely! I think I just need to do much more movement to relax everything….or maybe have a lovely massage?? Haa!

I went to the Red Cross Christmas lunch today and it was so lovely to see everyone – I have a shift every Saturday 10-2 at Ledbury Red Cross shop but I haven’t been able to go for months and months! Was really great to have a chat, but I did find out that my manager is leaving – so that’s pretty sad :(.

Yesterday we had a family gathering down in Southampton but it took us 3 hours to get there – when it normally takes 2 – because the M5 was shut, due to a severe accident, and we only found out when we were on the M50 so we had to go a really weird and long way. Got there eventually though and everyone else hadn’t eaten all the food so that was great. We swapped Christmas presents and drank and were merry. Lovely job.

Anyone want to come here and give me a massage? It hurts so much!

I’m glad to know you’re all still there! I hope you’re all okay 🙂 Busy time just before Christmas isn’t it?

http://www.theknockoneffect.co.uk – The tea towels are really great and are selling fast so make sure you buy yours now!

11 Responses to “Neck/shoulder pain.”

  1. Jan - Bristol December 13, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Sorry to here about your aches 😦 why not treat youself to a visit to Bath Spa for one of their lovely treatments there… just what you need for a pre-Christmas pick me up. I tried the Spa at Centre Parcs Longleat last Friday night – you can book for just the evening – it did my cold the world of good, all those steam rooms and saunas and I even managed to nab a complementary head massage-my fav 🙂
    p.s. as you are my on-line confession person, i must own up to other daughters choc orange going the same way as the younger daughters – I CANT HELP IT!!!! it just jumped into my mouth as I was wrapping presents.

    • theknockoneffect December 13, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      This made me laugh! I also ate a chocolate orange that was meant to be a present….

  2. Coz Al December 13, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Southampton contingent are in awe and admiration that you came all that way for an all too brief visit. It is always the way that the end comes too swiftly whilst catching up is well underway and more time is needed to watch more youtube/ipad demonstrations and enjoy again your funny retelling of trying to visit the neighbours. You forgot to mention that cousin Ally tried his hardest to scoff all the good cheese and how we all had seconds when your yummy food arrived. My favs were the caramelised nut and rosemary canapes.
    I hope your neck pain is tamed by the painkillers when you collect them. I think a massage sounds just the ticket you should source a nearby physio or massage therapist to work their magic.
    Brilliant to see you all yesterday and so glad that the sun shone and the snow stayed away.

    x
    al

  3. Dollydimple December 13, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Sorry to hear your neck/shoulder are still playing you up, hope the Naproxen offers some relief. If you are still struggling see if something like Gabapentin or Pregabalin could be prescribed ( don’t know whether they would be compatable with your other meds) but they are good if the source of the pain is a nerve.

    Glad you made it to your family bash and sounds like your baking went down a treat.
    I can’t keep up with you – family gathering yesterday, red cross meal today as well as all the admin you do with the cards and tea towels etc.

  4. margaret crisp December 14, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Hi Rosie, glad you’re getting the neck pain sorteD! Have you tried those wheat bags you put in the microwave?
    Sounds as if you had a good family bash and that your cooking was well apreciated!
    You certainly seem to be having a good social life!
    Looking forward to recieving tea towels soon,
    love mags.

  5. Michelle Gabriel December 14, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Hi Rosie
    I’d willing come and give you a massage, but…(there’s always a but, isn’t there) the journey is a little too far. If you lived about 20 miles, no problem, but over that, pah!
    Mic, trained massage therapist 🙂

  6. margaret crisp December 15, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Hi Rosie, hope you had a good nights sleep last night and your neck didn’t play up.
    Have taken up my miniature shop to be displayed in local bakery, and am going to restart on bags in a mo! Did I tell you I made 130 euros at the christmas fayre I went to? It has inspired me so will do another stall in May at the garden festival….I didn’t ever imagine I would ever so, but its okay as long as I can intersperse it with other activities. I need to do as much as I can now as after christmas it’ll be tree felling and collecting wood time!
    Still no drawing pins, so no decorations upp, but am going shopping tomorrow!
    love mags.

  7. Janet Harper (Jan, Silas' mum!) December 15, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Hello Rosie, just thought I’d tell u that I was browsing your shop and saw the dominoes all falling down and a little light bulb went on in my head and I got it!!! The doninoes represent TKOE!!!! DOH!!!Better late than never I suppose. Hope you are doing ok today. Jan xxx

  8. TV Rob December 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    There are snowflakes falling over your blog.
    Only just noticed them.
    Have they been doing that for ages?

    Also noticed that the direction they fall changes when I move my mouse.
    Neat.

    • Dollydimple December 16, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

      have to play with the snowflakes when I come on here now- neat!

  9. Amy December 15, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    we’re on the same meds! Well actually I’ve stopped taking mine now but it’s good, it helps! Get Toby to give you a massage,hope you feel better soon my lovely! xxxxxx p.s. Hannah and me are getting on the baking next week, you should come join!

Leave a Reply

