Column.

9 Dec

Here’s my column, which was in the paper last Tuesday – It’s quite similar to one of my previous posts though 🙂

So do you want to know how I did on my charity abseil? The good news is that I raised £350! The not so good news is..well..I’ll set the scene for you.

It was one of those days where it was freezing cold in the shade and freezing cold in the sun as well – definitely hats and gloves weather. Because I am an eighteen year old woman I obviously hadn’t dressed completely for the occasion. I had what I thought were the right shoes on and not really enough layers; so stumbling at the first hurdle there!

We arrive at Gloucester fire station and the tower is enormous. It is seriously high and even though I’m dosed up on post treatment meds, I still don’t feel 100%.

I get all dressed up in the abseiling gear and am lead to the doorway of this tower, expecting a set of stairs – even hoping that someone might have installed a lift. All that greets my eyes is a 100ft industrial vertical ladder…you wouldn’t believe this thing…I had to be attached to a rope just to get up it. The rungs were so far apart, and I had to use so much strength that on every platform I needed to stop and rest – by the time I got to the top I was exhausted already!

So I arrive at the top and this is where I realise I’m actually terrified of heights. I spent half an hour trying to persuade myself to jump over the edge, but I just could not bring myself to do it. I guess there are just some things that your brain will not rationalise.

I know what you’re thinking, what a waste right? Oh no.. No no no because then my mother offers herself up to do it! So collectively The Knock on Effect did it in the end because mum just scooted up the tower and came down the way I should have done! So big well done to mum

Honestly, going up that tower was the scariest thing I’ve ever done – I was more scared than I was before my last treatment. I’m just so happy to have raised money for Clic Sargent and that I am no longer at the top of that tower!

 

I got some crisps in the post which I have to eat as part of a survey haha!

 

2 Responses to “Column.”

  1. Coz Al December 10, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Good column! xoxoxox

  2. margaret crisp December 11, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Hi Rosie, thanks for printing this…have a good weekend!
    love mags.

Leave a Reply

