-45C

29 Nov

It’s pretty much -45C here. Pretty much. My room is the coldest as well because I live in a downstairs room on the end of the house and the roof hasn’t got as good insulation as everywhere else. I had to get dressed in the bathroom yesterday ’cause it was that cold.

Do you reckon I should do some sort of Christmas competition? What would you want to win if I did?

We went out to Malvern yesterday, with the main purpose to buy some winter school shoes for my sister Sylvie. Turns out that shopping with my sister and my mum is just a nightmare! They couldn’t agree on anything so in the end I went off and bought 5 tops (sale!), then came back and told them they were going to have to compromise.

Who watches X factor? Finally Katie has gone! Who do we want to win? And I’m a Celeb? I wanted Kayla to leave and I still don’t see how either of them managed to put any of those monsters in their mouths!

15 Responses to “-45C”

  1. Coz Al November 29, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Certain areas of work are pretty cold today, but nowhere near as bad as your room sounds… you must be like an icicle!
    Major defrosting of car needed this morning though.
    For the competition you could offer the winner a choice from the website, or a mention in your column?

    x
    al

  2. serena mees November 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    hello its only -1 here in yeovil, no snow yet. im quite lucky our house is well insulated so its ok here. i do watch im a celeb and yes how did they manage that. makes me cringe . thinking about christmas competition .? let me think what about the prize being the opportunity to design a 2012 tea towel. incorpoating you and olympics x only an idea

  3. Alex November 29, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Yup – tizz a tad nippy here (N.Wilts)too. I went out for a jog and made a fool of myself trying to stay upright (picture 70’s disco dancer without rhythm).

    Hardly any roof insulation – you’re mad, that’s not a room, that’s an igloo. You need to get some insulation (or birdseed – birds apparently make good insulation, and if it gets too hot, reduce the amount of seed to suit)

    I think you should do a Christmas competition, and the prize should be an original creation of yours. I don’t know why, but I always think that something personal is worth loads more than something mass produced.

  4. Cassie Smyth November 29, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    HAHA i went shopping today for school shoes it’s an absolute nightmare, I’m feeling for your sister. I’m also glad that katies gone she just seemed so forced. I’m just watching you on inside out how strange! xxxx

  5. Rosie November 29, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    It’s supposed to snow properly tonight in the Midlands (long-time lurker).

    I’m disappointed Wagner went out on X-Factor as he and Aiden provided much of the entertainment factor!

  6. Joel Deakin November 29, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Just seen u on inside out…thing ur brilliant and hope u beat cancer soon..I will b buying sumthings from ur website soon! X

  7. Leah Deborah November 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    hello, and i know, its freezing, and im happy wagner is gone :]. I want one direction to win, i think they will have a good carier.

  8. Laurence November 29, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    I reckon Aggros will be in the bottom two. I cannot make any more predictions.

    You find that people quickly fly from having lots of votes to not very many votes, because people are suddenly shocked when their favourite hits the bottom two – so they vote vote vote and get them up, then another falls to the bottom, so they vote vote vote and the other one falls back down – so I find it HIGHLY unlikely Kayla / Gillian will go today, but tomorrow, yeah, maybe.

  9. motherhen November 29, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    have just seen you on tv-and just read your blog-how brave you are, l don’t mean ‘cos you’re battling cancer-l mean living in a bedroom thats as cold as yours,as a child our house was that cold we used to lick the ice off the inside of the windows-in factmy parents were that mean they used to tell us it was ice-cream!!!how i laughed when you pulled your hair out during your chemotherapy-that used to be my party piece when l was going through treatment-and everyone used to freak out. keep battling, only positivity will beat cancer and negativity is a waste of time!!

  10. Vic November 29, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Hi,
    Just watched inside out – you are amazing. Something good always comes out of something bad, all the good you are doing is fantastic. Stay focused chick and make sure you beat cancer good and hard! Good luck with everything xxx

  11. Claire Faizey November 29, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Have just seen you on inside out, you are amazing and an inspiration to anyone. I live in pershore worcestershire we have no snow yet but it’s on it’s way. I remember the icicle feeling from when I lived at home with my parents, fortunately my flats toastie against the -3 we have at the moment.

  12. Jan - Bristol November 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I love Matt!!! Matt to win!!! my eldest daughter dreamt she married him the other night…hehe… she said she didnt want to wake up..ahhhh how cute it that!

    I thought of you this morning as I was scraping the ice off the inside of my car. Keep warm x

  13. Karen November 29, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Watched you on the inside out programme. I think you’re fantastic! So positive! Hope everything works out for you? Put more layers on to keep warm!! Slipper boots are the best thing since sliced bread!! Take care of yourself x

  14. Michelle November 29, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Rosie, I’m really confused (ok, my normal state I know but…)

    I received an email from you about 20.30 today titled ‘Sales’ so I tootled over here to read the updated blog, only to find, it’s not been updated?

    What’s happened? Are you doing this to confuse old folks like me? Help 😉

    • motherhen November 29, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

      how do you define old?? as a child 20 was old, but when you reach 20, 40 seems old and some of us are so old we forget how old we are!!!but whatever age l am-i’m always young at heart!!!

Leave a Reply

