Tired.

22 Oct

I didn’t get to sleep till like 3 last night! I woke mum up at about 12 and she told me to watch some TV then try again, so I caught up on the apprentice and tried again but had to get mum again at 2:30 and she came down and made me a hot water bottle and I took a cyclazine (anti sickness). I sound so pathetic! Ha!

So today I stopped myself sleeping in the car and am going to try having an early night to see if it makes any difference. I will also check out herbal things – thank you!

 

Went to the pub for Grandmas birthday and, although the people were really nice, the food just really wasn’t great at all :/. I was toying with the idea of giving some feedback (to help) but I didn’t want to upset them because they were so nice!

 

I was in Tuesdays Citizen not Wednesdays and I think I have located a copy! Thank you Jill!

 

I am finding out about tea towels – who would be interested in buying tea towels? Christmas presents yes?

 

I’m too tired to write anything of interest tonight!

4 Responses to “Tired.”

  1. Michelle October 22, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Rosie
    Firstly, t-towel, yes, yes, yes. I’d have some from you. In fact I’d have at least 5.
    secondly sleep, or lack of it.
    Subconsciously your mind is working overtime, as we all do from time to time. And no matter what we say (drink this, take that, recite the whole of Shakespeare’s sonnets 400 times) as long as your mind won’t stop, you won’t sleep. And sleep is one of the body’s repair kits. So, on that note, think about relaxing, maybe getting a relaxation CD to help you relax and get into the right frame of mind, to turn that whirring brain off, or at least down a notch. You need to find the right voice (not some smarmy one, not a whiny one – an Alan Rickman voice would do for me!), and chill out, disolve, and before you know it, you’ll be sleeping.
    It is difficult, sleep is one of the least understood body functions, but one of the most important one, for mammals. We don’t know why we do it, why it varies so much, and what really happens to us when we sleep. All we know is we feel lousy when we cannot sleep.
    So, maybe try a ‘destress, relaxation’ CD and see what happens. Also, don’t stop yourself cat-napping, it’s good for you, look at how agile the cats are! (Though we don’t want you chasing mice!!!).
    Take care, a frozen Mic – been out taking photos of the moon

  2. Coz Al October 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I agree with the previous post, you need to find things that are boring and relaxing to listen to rather than anything stimulating. Radio four late at night usually does it for me but audio books are another one. Something that will allow you to lie in the dark, focus on the words and drift.

    When you know that say 30 mins of that will send you to sleep, then you can set it on sleep timer. Sometimes when sleep has really eluded me I’ve woken up got comfy again and started the process all over again.

    Try not to do anything too stimulating in the hour before bed, use the time to write things down that are on your mind and what you plan to do the next day etc.
    Put something on to listen to and turn off the light.
    These are the tricks that have worked for me; maybe worth trying to see what will work for you.
    Hope you find something to help hon.

    x
    al

  3. Trudy Robertson October 23, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Hi Rosie,I find, a really intresting book to read that you can’t put down is good as you want to keep reading.Also make sure you are good and warm ,the trouble is you are thinking about it all the time.MUST sleep tonight, MUST sleep to night.Try not to think just read a book make sure you get a good one.
    Trudy

  4. Julia October 23, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Hi Rosie

    Try a Yoga Nidra CD, it’s relaxing and clears the mind. A soothing voice guides you into deep relaxation. Mine is called Experience Yoga Nidra and there’s a 20 minute and 45 minute version. Also you could try using a lavender pillow. My Mum likes hers.

    A good book definitely works for me too.

    I couldn’t get to sleep on Wednesday night after I’d been to my singing group because my head was full of all the songs we’d done.

    Tea towels are good, everyone needs them!

    See you soon

    Julia x

Leave a Reply

