Evening fun and games.

20 Oct

Hah! Mum came back from Derby work this evening so we spent it playing games on the Wii. No Calum though because he’s spending the week at Grandma and Grandads because he has a two week half term and there would be no one here to look after him..well..apart from me but he would be the one who would need to look after me! It’s a wonder I manage to look after myself to be honest…I am getting a little bit worried about me though, being alone and all..because I get tired just going to the kitchen to make lunch so I haven’t been eating as much as I need to really. Also, a lot of foods at certain times make me feel really sick. After about 7:45 I start to feel alright and last night I had a packet of crisps in bed (naughty!) so yeah I felt okay then. But I am getting worried..since my second TACE (so the one before this one) I’ve lost 2 stone..and that’s a lot to lose..I did put on a stone during chemo though so I guess I’ve only lost 1 stone but that does bring me down to 8st 8.5 and that is a small small amount..especially at my height. What is an easy thing to eat? I like strawberries but I need someone here to make them for me – how pathetic do I sound?! Don’t worry, I’m getting there!! I don’t know what else would be a good thing to eat? Also, my stomach is getting particularly picky about bread! Eugh. If I could have bowls of cut up strawberries ready for me then that would be good…wait…what the hell? I CAN have bowls of cut up strawberries waiting for me! Oh my days. Mum/dad..could you possibly cut up some strawberries for me?

Although, I’m going to ‘Trinity St David University of Wales’ open day tomorrow. All the way in Carmarthen – driving up with dad so I can sleep in the car…….obviously I’M not driving..Ha.

Then on Friday it is my very own Grandmothers birthday! So we’re going to meet them halfway at a pub for a birthday lunch and to pick up Cal. House has been very quiet without Cal.

Sylvie lost her P.E kit again…Did I tell you she lost it the first time? Mum and dad got mad and then had to pay out £76 for a new one. Then she left the second one on the bus. However, the bus company says they handed it into school so hopefully Sylvie will find it tomorrow. I hate losing things..I know it wasn’t me who lost it but it just makes my fingers curl. (Is that the right thing to say? Makes my fingers curl? Well it annoys me a lot pretty much.)

Ted keeps trying to break out. She has a hard hat and a utility belt.

Who hasn’t sponsored me for my abseil yet? It’s this Sunday and you need to pay up! If you know my address then send me some money and if you don’t then add a comment on here with your email, and the amount, and I’ll send you a paypal money request 🙂 Churs!

 

P.S OMG TAKE A LOOK AT MY HITS! Nearly 100,000…what shall I do to celebrate?!

P.P.S Christmas cards are on their wayyyy! 😀

5 Responses to “Evening fun and games.”

  1. Dollydimple October 20, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Hi, I’ve been following you on your blog for a while now but this is the first time I’ve left a comment.
    That’s a lot of weight to lose and your body needs the calories to function. I understand that the chemo alters your taste (my son is on chemo) and it’s hard when you don’t fancy the food in the house or you haven’t the energy to get it. Please eat something, I presume you have ondansetron or some other drug to help keep the nausea at bay. Have you tried Calagen?( I think that’s the right name- I kept getting it mixed up with the name of that washing machine stuff- Calgon!!) Personally not to my taste but would give you a high calorie drink.
    Hope you slept better last night, my son gets insomnia too because of the drugs – he didn’t get to sleep til 5am yesterday, so no energy for school.
    Please tell me who or what Ted is!
    Good luck for the abseil, we are helped by CLIC and also raise money for them- a fantastic charity.

    • theknockoneffect October 21, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

      Hello 🙂
      Don’t worry I am trying to eat – I do want to function properly..it’s not an eating disorder type thing.
      I have Domperidone and Cyclazine but the Domp isn’t working so well as it usually does and I prefer to take Cycl at night because it makes me tired. Will ask about Ondansetron because I think I had that in hosp last time I was there. We have been considering high calorie drinks – thanks!
      No sleep really is the worst – I have a tired body and then a wide awake mind..well it’s like half my mind is awake and the other half just wants to sleep!
      Hah, Ted is the female hamster that me and my boyfriend Toby share. She’s getting pretty nifty at climbing out the front now!
      Hope you and your son are both as well as can be 🙂
      Rosie

  2. Coz Al October 20, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Do you think that eating little and often might be the key?

  3. celia butler October 20, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Little and often is good advice if you don’t have much of an appetite. Do you like soup? If so, maybe your Mum or Dad could make you a big pan of it at the weekend and it’s then no effort to heat up a bowl when you want it. Lentil soup or something like that is good because of the protein as well as the veg and is quick and easy to make. Also what about no preparation things like houmous with tortilla chips, and maybe strawberry yoghurt?
    Enjoy your open day and grandmother’s birthday lunch Rosie, and congratulations on the pending 100,000 hits. You are compulsive reading! x

  4. Michelle Gabriel October 21, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I agree with the little and often thoery as well.
    I eat oatcakes and you can have them with sweet or savory toppings – jams and marmalades, or houmous and cheeses. Yummy.
    Also fruit smooties are good, quite filling and full of good stuff. And yoghurts with fresh fruit and some oats mixed in. I’m not too keen on yogs but if I add fruit and then lots of oats it’s like a flapjack!
    Hope you find something you can eat that doesn’t make you feel sick.
    Take care and I hope Sunday goes well. xx

Leave a Reply

