Ribs

12 Oct

I read something earlier about this certain treatment and how for some people they take their ribs out to get better access to the tumours and now I’m all upset because I’m thinking about how disabled I might become..If I had this treatment (which I most likely won’t!) then I might have my ribs taken out and then I might need walking sticks and stuff and then I would be disabled and all sorts :'(. I don’t want to be impaired..I want to be normal. I know there are loads of people that are disabled and you learn to live with it and stuff but I bet all of them would love to be ‘normal’.

I feel so vulnerable. And like a child. Eugh..why aren’t I better yet?

5 Responses to “Ribs”

  1. jill Clayton October 13, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    Hi Rosie, I’m no medic but I wouldn’t have thought a rib resection would affect your walking. THere might be a temporary problem with shoulder movements Steeplechase jockeys break ribs all the time and are back on a horse as soon as it heals.
    A friend of mine fell over and cracked 2 ribs a fortnight ago but she’s walking and driving perfectly normally. Love, Jill

  2. celia butler October 13, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    I don’t know anything about this sort of treatment Rosie, but as a general thing I often find that the anticipation of something difficult or unpleasant turns out to be worse than the actual event. Hope this turns out to be the case for you whatever the next treatment is. x

  3. Pip Armstrong October 13, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    You poor thing, I’m sure you are feeling anxious but it probably won’t be half as bad as you’ve read, the internet is a wonderful source of info but at times a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing and frighten you needlessly. I would wait and see what the docs have to say if I were you and try not to worry x
    PS We would sponsor you but how do we do it? Talking about Clic Sargent sadly the children at Henry’s school chose Blue Cross as their preferred charity this year, bit curious but too young to understand I guess an at least Henry tried his best x

  4. margaret crisp October 13, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Hi Rosie, good luck with your appointment today, let us know how it goes. Hopefully the treatment they suggest won’t be the removal of all ribs, but even if it is am sure, as Jill says, it is get overable for someone with your tenacity!
    Have been watching the chile miners come out from their underground dungeon, whilst sporting a new domino necklace. Am also tidying up as haven’t felt up to doing it for days, and as John has been putting in pipes etc for the rayburn…..
    Thinking of you, big hugs,
    love mags.

  5. Michelle October 13, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Hi Rosie

    Hope your appointment went okay today and that they’re not going to do anything too drastic to you.

    mic

Leave a Reply

