To smile is to live.

17 Sep

I am actually in the best mood. I don’t even know why! Mum and me went to Tewkesbury and I didn’t have enough money to buy a mirror that I really wanted but that’s okay because there will be other mirrors. There will be other antique shops. There will be other little lace dresses for tiny little girlies. There will be other cafes that have the tastiest milkshakes. It’s okay that I found out I’m not really a fan of caramel shortbread. It’s okay that it’s getting chilly because that means more living room fires! It’s okay that that mirror was so huge and lovely because when I do have enough money to buy it (or the guts to spend all the money I’ve saved up) then I can buy a house to go around it. It’s okay that I don’t know how to cook because I’ve got a new student cookbook to practise with. It’s okay that I’m not going to uni this year because I definitely wouldn’t have been ready. It’s okay that I’m not looking forward to stereotypical student life because I don’t have to do that if I don’t want to! It’s okay that my godson – I’m 18 and I have a freaking godson! Jealous? Beautiful beautiful Alfie – it’s okay that he lives in London because then I get to go to LONDON and I love London. It’s okay to not win the lottery. It’s okay to wear pyjamas all day! It’s okay that everyone is leaving to go to all these far away places for university because now I have all these towns and cities to visit. It’s okay that my hair is all short because it means I can see if I suit white blonde which I probably won’t BUT THAT’S OKAY :D. It’s okay that I’m not well enough yet to spend more than an hour walking around because I will get better. It’s okay it’s okay it’s OKAY!

I’ll tell you what’s not okay though..That people have stopped writing letters. That is not okay. I love post. Who doesn’t love post? Write letters, not emails. Send postcards, not texts. Yeah. No post is not okay. In fact, if you’re reading this now just think of someone who you haven’t spoken to in a while and sit down and just write them a letter – how lovely.

8 Responses to “To smile is to live.”

  1. Michelle September 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Glad you’re okay Rosie. You’ve made me smile – even more of a reason to be okay as I’ve been a little bit down recently.
    I’ve just posted a plea on Facebook for you – for your Christmas card design competition. It’s very hard for me to do this as I’m very against using the C word – I’m a C,c,c, c,,christmas humbug, bah.
    But I will buy your cards as my Fatman likes Christmas so we do all the Christmassy things – boring (smiles). Suppose as I love him, that’s okay.
    It’s the weekend, no work, very okay.

    • theknockoneffect September 17, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Hah, I enjoyed this comment 🙂 I think with christmas you just have to go with it as it’s the cheesyness of it that makes all the fun! 🙂 Thank you very much for your advertising! 🙂 X

  2. Ali September 17, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Lol ok I will send you a postcard next week as we are off to our caravan for the week.

    xx

  3. Jeremy September 18, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    Great post.

  4. margaret crisp September 18, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Hi Rosie, lovely to see your good humour has returned!!
    Charlie the kestrel CAN NOW FLY!!!! His feathers have grown back and we removed all jesses and let him go two days ago.For the last two days he has gradually been improving his flying technique but when tired allowed himself to be picked up and brought back for food. Today he has flown around really well,getting lift, flying to telephone wires, chimney etc etc and although at this moment he’s out of sight we’ve left his food out in case he comes back for it!
    I love your recent upbeat posts,
    All is okay,
    love mags.

  5. Katie September 19, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Do you remember we used to write to each other? And you used to send me pencil leads because for some bizarre reason i used to collect them, and i sent you used ink cartridges 🙂 ohh back in the day 🙂 x

  6. margaret crisp September 19, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Hi Rosie, hope you’re still smiling today!!!!
    Charlie has been out all afternoon – he spent last night out but came back this morning for a bite to eat.
    It’s getting colder here, frosts the last two mornings and although its warm during the day we may even rub a couple of sticks together tonight!!
    Bought four mugs today at a car boot, otherwise no real news. Spoke to son Patrick tonight which was good..he’s just started a new position as captain in Catterick and he’d only been there an hour when I phoned.
    Hope you’ve had a good weekend, love mags.

  7. Becky September 19, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Rosie I loved this comment I’m staying at home this year too and so totally agree with everything you just said!! If you give me you address I’ll send you a letter after all tbh I haven’t spoken to you in an age!!! Xxx

Leave a Reply

