Calums first day at college

14 Sep

I forgot to say yesterday that it was Calums first day at college! He said that he went to a garden centre and ate ‘cornwall and rice’ for lunch……anybody know what ‘cornwall’ could be? He said it was a spicy potato. If any of you don’t know then I will explain here that my brother is 16 and has quite severe autism so his communication skills are a lot different from mine or yours. It is unbelievable how much he has changed and progressed over the years though – whenever we went to a supermarket we used to have to buy him a baguette to eat as we walked round or he would just scream and scream and scream! I used to get really embarrassed about people looking until one day I told my dad that people were looking and dad said so what?! Stare back at them! And after that I became mighty pleased to have Calum as my brother and if anyone tries anything naughty around him then I am first in there to see what’s going on. I used to look after him in a playground because he would climb the wrong way up the slide and the other kids didn’t like that. Heh. Calum comes out with interesting things, the other day we were talking about my laptop and how it broke and Calum said that it was broken because dad tipped water on it because he was stupid – none of us had said that it was because he was stupid but it was so funny and sweet. Although Calum is autistic he still does loads of things – he does trampolining and he goes to youth club. He really enjoys discos and always says yes to going to a party. He loves to cook, enjoys bowling and he can remember the exact date that we have gone to see films at the cinema. He’s all growing up now, being and college and stuff.

Sylvie, my sister, is growing up as well. I can’t wait till she’s like 15. Only 4 years to go. She’s very thoughtful and I hope she doesn’t lose that as she goes into being a teenager. I can’t wait till she brings home all her new friends from school. Did I say, in one of my earlier posts, that she started at Newent this year? She says that she hasn’t gone to the wrong classroom yet and that she eats paninis for lunch (did you know that the singular for panini is panino?). Her DSi came today – she’s 11 and she’s saved up enough money to buy herself a DSi. I moan to her a lot but I really wouldn’t want her any other way. I’m glad she’s my sister.

My column was going to be in The Citizen today but I have been informed that it will be next Tuesday instead. So don’t forget to buy your copy of The Citizen next Tuesday because you’ll get to read my first public column! Weyyy!

4 Responses to “Calums first day at college”

  1. Lucy September 14, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    What a lovely post 🙂 Love Sylvie and Calum too xx

  2. Coz Al September 14, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Yay Cal, sounds like a brilliant first day! Does he think he’ll like college?
    Meece will be jealous of Sylv as she wants a DS.
    x
    al

  3. Michelle September 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Rosie, could Calum’s cornwall have been a korma? Just a thought!
    I think Calum has some great skills, especially when it comes to helping you.
    Lovely post.
    Mic

  4. Pip Armstrong September 21, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    I would like to bet Cal had a Cornish Pasty bless him x

Leave a Reply

